Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

A time saving gadget

I don’t know where I originally saw one of these gadgets. It’s been five years or more since I first saw it. Someone was selling them for $10. I made me one from a drink cup which worked ok but kept tipping over on me. When my brother started remodeling his house I asked for a small piece of wood to use and explained why. He surprised me one day by bringing me this.


It has a hole drilled into the center. The seam ripper cap is glued into the hole. So when it’s not in use I can cover the dangerous point. I simply pick up the point part and put it down into the cap.


This is how it’s used. It sits on the table, I pick up the chain sewn pieces and pull the connecting thread onto the sharp part of the seam ripper. It’s a lot quicker than using nippers or scissors.


I did glue a piece of shelf grip onto the bottom to keep it from sliding around the table.


I’m all for anything that saves me a few seconds here and there. Those seconds soon add up to minutes. By making one myself (or rather brother did) I saved a few dollars too.

One comment on “A time saving gadget

  1. Katie
    November 23, 2007

    Clever!!! 🙂

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2007 by in Quilting Miscellaneous, QUILTS - TIPS AND TECHNIQUES.

How often do I post?

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 82,413 HITS
