Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Heirloom quilted star

Anybody want to see what I’ve been doing the last couple of days? I was bent way over the machine table squinting at these stitches. I had to keep reminding myself to stop tensing up and relax.


A bit of micro stippling and a bit of small stippling to make the design pop out.


The design started out looking like this. Lots of bias fullness in the fabric.

In a post a couple of days ago; I showed this top on the machine. I wanted to practice some “quality” quilting on it even though I couldn’t figure out what “quality” meant. Something in the back of my mind kept telling me to mark a design before quilting. I decided to listen to my subconsious and take it back off to mark a design. It took me almost a full day to draw the design on the fabric then get it back on the machine and basted together.

I very rarely mark a quilt before quilting and it’s usually my own. I prefer freehand work on customer quilts. The second day I got the star part quilted and the design stitched in the white areas. I’m hoping to have it completely quilted in about 4 or 5 more days.

I’m so far behind on my waiting list that tackling a design like this is sort of crazy. I could have used a faster design to get it “done” and out the door; but, that wouldn’t be the type quilter I am. I prefer to give the quilt what it tells me it needs regardless of the time table. 

One comment on “Heirloom quilted star

  1. Anonymous
    August 24, 2008

    I absolutely love your quilting on this one. I know the owner will be thrilled! Very nice work Anita. Riea

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2008 by in Customer quilts 2008, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,628 HITS
