Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Stabilizing a quilt

I got down to the end of the border designs on the current quilt before having to stop for the day. It’s a coincidence that someone asked me about the stabilizing I do on quilts. I just happen to be doing a quilt with stabilizing so I could take a picture.

When I have a very large top with wide borders on it; I will do the borders first then go back to do the center design. I stabilize the center area as I go. This technique seems to tame any friendly borders before the center area is quilted. If there is any fullness it will go to the center where I can spread it out through the quilting.

.

I use this same technique of quilting the borders first when the center area is going to be a pantograph quilted. I stabilize the center area with different techniques depending on what is to be done in the center. If it’s going to be a pantograph design I prefer to do a single stitch about every 6 inches across in rows about 12 inches apart. If I plan to do custom quilting in the center area then I will stitch in the ditch around the blocks. There are times when I’ve used pins to stabilize the center area. I have to be sure to pin horizontal so I don’t stab myself as I roll the quilt.

.

Last night the weather was very cold. It got cold in the house too. I kept asking myself….. if I just got this house insulated then why is it that I don’t feel warm? I even turned on a small space heater and put an extra cover on my bed. This morning I realized the battery for the thermostat needed replacing.
.

I know for certain I have a half dozen tripple A batteries somewhere in this house. I keep a stash of batteries for things like the smoke detectors, the clickers, the clock, the thermostat, etc. I just can’t seem to locate where I stashed them. I’m sure they will be very easy to find when I don’t need a battery. So today I will either take time away from my machine to catch a bus to get batteries… or…. pay three times the cost at the corner store.
.
It’s loosing things in my house that I had hoped to stop doing this year. My intentions were to become better organized starting way back in January. I had planned to do a little organizing each month so that by this time of year…. everything in my house would have a home and be placed in its home.
.
So many life happenings and illnesses this year have kept me from doing any organizing. I never thought things would be as bad as they were for me. It’s been a struggle just to keep ahead of the quilting schedule. Now it’s almost January again. My one hope for the coming year is that it will be a much better year…. and that I can do the organizing at last.
.
Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2008 by in Customer quilts 2008, Stabilizing a quilt.

How often do I post?

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,985 HITS
