Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Nine to go

The last few days I’ve stayed off the computer (except to post) and working steady on this quilt. I had talked with the owner last Saturday and she wanted to pick it up Thursday. It’s the only day she can come. Could I have it done by then? I told her yes I could have it ready. I had one on the machine I needed to finish first and then I’d start on hers.

I called last night to tell her I had it finished and that I would be home today. No doctor appointments. She tells me she can’t come until next Tuesday or Wednesday. As a professional quilter, I get this a lot. Rush, rush, rush to accommodate a customer…. the customer changes their plans without telling me. This is how some of the stress of quilting for others happens.

Oh well…. it’s one more to cross off the waiting list countdown.

The pictures are already cracking and peeling away from the fabric. I found out that the customer’s son made this quilt for his wife for their first anniversary next month. It’s his first quilt. Not bad for a beginner. The saying across the top says…. God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you. Awwww….. that’s nice.

I put a feather around the border.

Flowers around the words and curly ribbons on the sashing.

Flowers on the corners of the blocks around the photos.

Another look at the flowers.

Larger flowers on the blocks without photos. I did large open flowers so they would not be quilted too tight. The photos are not quilted and I wanted the blocks to have fairly even density.

This is the flower block from the back. I think this is a Pam Clarke flower design. Could be a Diana Phillips one though.

A look at the corner flowers and the ribbons from the back.


This is the photo blocks from the back. It leaves a gap in the quilting when there are photos on quilt tops.

One more photo from the back. Can you see how these make it look as if I didn’t finish the quilting? I’ll be glad when the photos on quilt fad goes away.
7 comments on “Nine to go

  1. Anonymous
    July 30, 2009

    you are an inspiration.thanks
    for sharing your story.

  2. Quiltin' LibraryLady
    July 30, 2009

    What our country needs is more people like you, willing to work hard and save for what they want. And fewer of those sitting around waiting for their entitlements. I sure hope it all works out for your daughter. And doesn't it do your mother's heart good to know she WAS actually absorbing everything you were trying to teach her? We don't always know that until years later.

    I'm really sorry to hear about the loss of your son. Cancer is always bad but seems even worse when it takes a young person who should have their whole life ahead of them. A classmate of my DGD, also about 13-14, is fighting cancer. I took her a quilt to give to him just yesterday. I just hope he gets to use it for a good many years to come.

  3. SandyQuilts
    July 30, 2009

    Thank You.

  4. jhwolf
    July 30, 2009

    Anita:
    You are an amazing woman and your daughter is a very lucky woman to have you as a Mom and teacher.

    Judy in MO

  5. Laura
    July 30, 2009

    Wow, what a powerful story! You are an inspiration to us all. Love your blog and it's one of the few that I check every day. I wish you luck as you countdown to retirement and I hope life after retirement provides you with good health and continued happiness.

  6. Anonymous
    July 30, 2009

    Thank you, Anita, for sharing some of your history. Your courage and tenacity inspire me to be more appreciative of what little I do have, to be more careful with everything, and to try a little harder to make do. You go girl! Ann

  7. kathi
    July 30, 2009

    THAT is an amazing story. I am still brushing the tears from my eyes. some tears of sorrow, but many tears of joy. YOU as well as your DAUGHTER are truly AMAZING WOMEN. Thank you for sharing.. and THAT would also make an EXCELLENT BOOK. get to writing already!!!

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,203 HITS
