Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Lost count

I lost count of how many quilts left to do. I’ve had two or three come in and some gone out. The tops just coming in are some I promised to do (many months ago) no matter when the tops got finished. A promise is a promise so they are here waiting. The toppers are people with sudden health issues that created a problem getting tops finished.

This is the current finished top. The one I had to take off the machine for awhile so I could finish the deadline quilt.

I had a little quilter’s mental block when it came to deciding what to quilt on it so I was a little relieved to set it aside for awhile. The odd shape of the pieces were the problem. You see the long narrow piece on the right side of the block? I knew I wanted one design on there but that left me with “what do I do with the other?” thoughts. More “stand and stare” and I saw it as a nine patch with narrow strips top and bottom. You see what I mean? So I did a design that would work on a nine patch then added an element to go onto the narrow strips.


Here’s a look at the design from the back. Maybe you can see the nine patch a little better. I think it worked out fine.

A simple feather design on the outside border. A flower, leaf, and curl design on the inside border.

A view of those from the back.

Oh dear…. another stand and stare quilt. The next top is another of those that have me thinking…. what do I quilt on that? Stand and stare won’t pay the bills. If the machine is not moving, I’m not earning any money. I do have some thinking time before I start the design. I’ll do the stabilizing today while my mind works to come up with the quilting.


The blocks flip flop which creates a whole other design issue.

Comment replys? If you comment on my blog but have your “no comment reply” turned on then I can’t type talk with you. To rnmom…. I love touching the quilt when the quilting is done. There’s an attraction to the quilt that draws my hand straight to it. I love the texture that’s created.

How often do I post?

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,553 HITS
