Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

The roses continue

I’m still experimenting. I like the roses the way they are but I want the quilting to be a major part of the design. So I drew in some ghost roses. Can you see the white lines? I used one of those white marking pens that disappears when steamed. I ghosted in three more roses. You might have to click on the photo to enlarge it to see them better.

Here’s a close up of one of the ghosted roses. I’m going to do some freehand machine embroidery before I quilt the layers together. My inspiration for the embroidery comes from Sarah Ann Smith and Patsy Thompson.

I didn’t get any farther than this because my SIL called to come over for a day of cutting out the pieces for her next quilts. We made quilt kits for her. I have to be very specific, very watchful, and very repetitive with her. I write down everything…. step by step… and then go over each step with her as she does them. A true beginner.

.
If I’m very lucky I can start the quilting on the roses this morning. I’ll post pictures tomorrow if I get anything accomplished. It would be very nice if I could create the ideas I have in my head. I see things clearly there…. not so clearly when the ideas come out of my mind and into my hands. I want to be good. I have a talent. I just don’t think I have the “gift”. Do you know what I mean? For example any person can learn to play the piano but only a person with the “gift” can be a concert pianist. Any person can write a story but only a person with the “gift” can write a best selling novel. I may have a talent but only time will tell me if I have the “gift”. In the meantime it’s Practice, Practice, Practice. Have fun with it!

.
I have a customer quilt that needs to be started today so I’ll work until noon on the roses then take it off the machine to start the customer quilt. This quilt is a twin to one I did back before xmas. I had promised I would quilt them both so the quilting looks the same. A different quilter doing the same designs never looks the same.

4 comments on “The roses continue

  1. Anita Estes
    January 13, 2010

    Thank you everyone. I feel I have talent but I'm having difficulty developing it. Sort of like when a baby takes its first steps, it takes awhile to get it right.

    I also do a lot of traditional piecing. It's the backbone of my quilting career. I'm working on a design that starts with 10 inch squares and winds up as a pieced block. I'll put it on my hints blog as soon as I work it all out.

  2. Theresa
    January 13, 2010

    I hate to disagree with you, but after seeing your blog and your work, I think you absolutely have a gift for artwork. I can't wait to see what this year will bring you creatively.

  3. Your roses are very beautiful. It'll be nice to see it all quilted. Mother of Bella Jean Boutique

  4. Laura
    January 13, 2010

    Very pretty! You are very talented. I can't draw worth squat, so I stick to traditional piecing. I love those white marking pens! They have become my favorite marking tool as the steam makes it so easy to re-mark if necessary.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2010 by in ART JOURNEY, Journey 2010.

How often do I post?

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 82,455 HITS
