Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

It’s fair day

I did get this quilt finished.  I had a hard time coming up with a design for it until I realized K.I.S.S. is sometimes best.  It’s for a guy and guys don’t always like froo froo designs.  It’s baseball theme which also means no froo froo feathers or curly, flowery designs.

What I did was a faux flying geese around the border to represent the direction of running from base to base and a simple line design on the inside border to represent a path in the dirt.
The nine patch block were done with line dancing.
The snowball blocks were done with crosshatching to represent looking through a chain link fence at a ball game going on.
The back is a busy fabric so the stitching doesn’t show up in a photo.  I’m happy with it…. hope the customer is too. 
I’m headed out to the fairgrounds to have breakfast with the govenor, mayor, and other big whigs.  It’s the kickoff breakfast that I attend every year.  I like talking with the people who have their farm animals here for a few days.  Sometimes I get to see people from the small town where I spent a lot of time as a child.
I’ll be at the door when they are opened for the crafts section. 
I’m anxious to see if the rose quilt got a ribbon or if they guy I’m trying to beat got it instead.  I don’t know the guy, just his work.  He really is a fantastic textile artist.  I think of it as a little friendly competition between us to get the ribbon.  If I’m lucky, maybe I’ll get to meet him. 
2 comments on “It’s fair day

  1. Dora, the Quilter
    August 19, 2010

    Did you win; did you win?

  2. kathi
    August 19, 2010

    sounds like a WONDERFUL day. ENJOY.
    I am pretty much disgusted with our fair. YOu can't even SEE the quilt entries anymore. they have them folded, in plastic bags, on a table. with a “rope so you can't even get close” .. what's the point?

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2010 by in Customer quilts 2010.

How often do I post?

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,494 HITS
