Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Another finished

I finished this quilt.  It came out really squared despite the D cup.
I used a dark thread to quilt a design on the plain blocks then went back with a matching thread to quilt around the design with meandering.
I did slightly wavy lines on the pieced blocks.

 

I did a leaf and curl design on the setting triangles.  With a matching thread.  It gave texture without overwhelming the top design.
I did a swag design on the inside border and a leaf vine design on the outside border.  I did the binding by machine.
Here is a look at the back.
Ok, the quilting design is not much different than any other quilt I do regularly.  What was so time consuming about this one?  Well, the borders were much smaller than the top.  See how the border curves compared to the center area?   It was also an on point setting top which means more fullness to be worked into the quilting design.   Quilt tops like this take much more concentration to get finished as squared.
When I say squared it always sounds wrong.  The quilts are actually not square but rectangle.  I refer to squared because the sides come out even instead of one side larger than the other.  I’m writing some tutorial posts to put on my other blog that will show the steps for quilting tops like this one.
I have another quilt I’m working on and hope to finish it today.
One comment on “Another finished

  1. kathi
    June 23, 2011

    so EXCITED you got to the THEATRE!! yes. a new life in the works. and AMAZING how you DO get those quilts “square” . I also do NOT LIKE “on point” quilts. personally, i don't MAKE “on point” quilts and am always amazed when a customer brings one,, which of course is often.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 79,782 HITS
