Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

A quilt finished

Well it seems like forever since I posted a finished quilt.  It’s not because I haven’t tried.  It’s just that I’ve had a lot of things to do lately.  This quilt has 7 borders.

Quilt with seven borders

That’s a lot of borders to work with.  I did a leaf and curl design on the piano key outside border.

 

Piano key outside border

I did a leaf vine feather design on the first inside border.

The first inside border

I did a leaf and curl design on the second and third inside borders.  I treated the two borders as one when stitching the design.

Second and third inside borders

I did yet another leaf design on the fourth and fifth inside borders.  I also treated these two borders as one when stitching the design.

Fourth and fifth inside borders

I did l e lace design on the last inside border.

Sixth inside border

On the center area it had both pieced and plain blocks.  On the pieced ones I did a Greek key design.  The lines of the design are not perfectly spaced or even.  It wasn’t supposed to be.  This is “free form” art which gave the quilt an artistic feel.

Pieced squares of the center area

I did simple straight lines on the plain blocks.  The lines go up and down on a block and reverse to go side to side on the next block.

The plain blocks of the quilt center

This is what the piano key border design looks like from the back.

Piano key border from the back

This is the first, second, and third borders as seen from the back of the quilt.

The first, second, and third inside borders seen from the back of the quilt

The fourth, fifth, and sixth inside borders as seen from the back of the quilt.

The fourth, fifth, and sixth inside borders seen from the back

This is a view of the center area as seen from the back of the quilt.  You can see the Greek key design and the straight line design.

The center of the quilt as seen from the back

I used a “jean gold” thread color.  That color accented the colors of the fabric without overwhelming it.  There’s just a subtle look of dimension which adds to the artistic feel of the quilt.  It was a very large quilt.  Barely fit onto my machine.   There was some extra fullness to the center area but it wasn’t difficult to deal with.  I’ve had enough practice working on quilts over the years that it no longer bothers me when I have a quilt with issues.  It’s a normal part of my quilting day.

 

4 comments on “A quilt finished

  1. kathi
    September 30, 2011

    Really GREAT Anita!! i am now going to HIDE this last one on the machine.

    • Na Na
      September 30, 2011

      Kathi, don’t hide it. We are always more critical of our own work than others are. I’m sure she’s going to appreciate a “done” quilt. Maybe she felt the same way about how she created it. But instead she braved your seeing it and trusted you to make it usable….. which you have done.

  2. Nancy
    September 28, 2011

    As much as I enjoy your hints and ideas, I LOVE seeing your finished quilts. The colors on this quilt were beautiful and your quilting was perfect. I’ve only made a couple of quilts myself and you always inspire me to get out my machine and fabric. Have a good day! Nancy

    • Na Na
      September 29, 2011

      Thank you Nancy. Sometimes it’s a balancing act between household things getting done and quilts getting finished.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011.

How often do I post?

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,277 HITS
