Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Furkid blankie

One of the things I worried about when I decided not to use my furnace was my furkid.  He’s so tiny (2 pounds) and so close to the floor that he’s cold all the time.  Heat rises so the floor is the coldest part of the house.

He has his favorite blankie that he works very hard at making into the best spot to lay everyday.  He’s so protective of his blankie that when I put it into the washer he sits in front of the washer and dryer until I give it back to him.

Now that the weather has gotten colder, I simply had to do something for him to stay warm other than a blanket.  I went to the thrift store and bought a furkid version of an electric blanket.  It’s a heating pad.  Evidently people don’t donate heating pads because there was only one.  Or maybe more are buying them from a thrift store?  Anyway, I used some scrap batting and made a new cover for it.

Electric blanket for a furkid

I turned the heating pad on to get it warm then carefully slipped it under his blankie so as not to disturb the way he had carefully arranged it.  He watched me intently….. as if to say, why are you disturbing my blankie this time?

Heating pad slipped under the blankie

When he sniffed to inspect what I had done, it didn’t take but a second for him to realize it was very warm there.  I swear he smiled at me!  He then curls up to enjoy the warmth.  Usually it’s very hard for me to take his picture.  He doesn’t like the camera.  This time he didn’t move.

Blankie contentment

He barely moved from that spot the rest of the day.  I keep it on the lowest setting which should be enough for a kid that has on a fur coat.  If I notice him shivering a lot then I can increase the heat for just a little while.  It’s not good to lay on a heating pad constantly with a high heat setting.  The blankie between him and the pad should be enough to shield him from too much heat but I’ll turn it off when I see he’s not using it or been on it too long.

If dogs can smile…. he’s doing it a lot more now.

5 comments on “Furkid blankie

  1. Joyful
    October 25, 2011

    Yes, I think it is expensive $25-35 US bit if it was sold here it would cost more than that asit would be imported from the UK>

    Here is the linkhttp://meanqueen-lifeaftermoney.blogspot.com/2011/10/warm-as-toast.html

  2. Joyful
    October 23, 2011

    This is the second time today I’ve read about a heating type pad or device for a dog or cat. It’s that time of year where it gets cold and drafty. It’s a great idea to keep the fur kids warm and and yours is a much more economical version than the other device I read about made especially for cats (manufactured in England). Too bad I didn’t think of this when my fur kid was still alive but if I get another one some time, I will know what to do.

    • Na Na
      October 24, 2011

      Really? I haven’t heard about something especially made for pets. Was it very expensive?

      I really should have thought of this years ago when my other furkid was alive too. The two of them used to huddle together to stay warm in the winter.

  3. kathi
    October 23, 2011

    ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE!! That is one LUCKY and VERY LOVED furkid.

    • Na Na
      October 24, 2011

      Yes, he’s such a baby. Sometimes I think he tries to talk human in a growling sort of way.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2011 by in ENERGY SAVING IDEAS.

How often do I post?

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,212 HITS
