Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Busy, busy

I don’t want anyone thinking something is wrong because I haven’t been posting to my blog.  I’ve just been busy trying to finish the Christmas rush quilts so I can enjoy the holidays with my family.

Here’s the first quilt finished.

Halloween quilt

Stitch in the ditch around the characters.

Applique characters

Simple straight lines in the alternate pieces.  The owner really prefers only enough stitching to hold it together.

Alternate pieces

Another one finished.  I used a Circle Lord template to do a circle swirls design on this one.  The owner chose it.  The quilt barely fit onto the machine.  It’s a California King.

Africa theme quilt

A view from the back.

Circle Lord swirls template quilting

The next one finished is a Christmas theme one.

Christmas theme quilt

I did Holly leaves on the outside border and a circle design on the inside border.

Holly leaves on inside border

I did mittens on the outside border.

Mittens on the outside border

I did leaves and loops design on the inside borders.

Loops and leaves

The next one finished.  I forgot to take a full photo of the quilt.  I did a line danced flower on the inside pieced area.

Line danced a flower design on the center area

I did a feather and curl design on the outside border.

A feather and curl design on the border

Here’s a view from the back.

View from the back

There were three quilts finished that I failed to take photos of before the owner picked them up.  I have only a few left to finish before the holidays.  Some are wall hangings and some are large bed quilts.

When I’m in a rush mode I tend to stay away from the computer.  I’m too tempted to stay at the computer emailing friends or checking out blogs.  I would get nothing done if I gave into the temptations.

One more week and things should settle down for a bit.  That’s when I can work on some charity quilts.  I’m hoping to get a little organizing done during the holidays.  It’s been too long since I actually looked through things to see what UFO or PIG can be completed.  I’m looking forward to a new year and some changes.  Maybe I can do a little less thinking about food and more about sewing and quilting with the coming of a new year?  I also want to reconstruct more of my best tutorial posts.

Right now I’m getting off the computer again.  I’m headed into my studio for a few more days of Christmas Rush quilting.

6 comments on “Busy, busy

  1. Joyful
    November 20, 2011

    You are right about those blogs being created and written by people who are blog artists. I also have blog envy and keep trying to learn more but mostly just keep moving things around or getting rid of them altogether, lol. It is all very time consuming. I learn the blog stuff in baby steps too and I have to be ready to learn. Oh and you are totally an artist of another kind…I want to do some of what you’re doing too but that will be tiny baby steps,.

    I totally agree that baby steps are much better than no steps at all, no matter what we are dealing with. I have a mess in my dining room as I’m decluttering but I haven’t moved a piece of paper there for at least two weeks. I do have to get back to it so I can put up the tree before Christmas in a nicer, neater space.

    BTW, I sent you some info on the photo enlargement issue for Word Press but I don’t see it at the most recent blog. Either it’s disappeared or it needs approval (when you’re ready). Good luck with it.

  2. Joyful
    November 17, 2011

    Wow! You have been busy. You are so talented with the quilt work and the food preservation and all the household things. I wish I could be as disciplined to stay off the computer but I have “work” to do there so I don’t get quite as much done as I’d like around the house… I am making progress in baby steps.

    • Na Na
      November 19, 2011

      Yes, I can see how it would be hard to stay away from the computer when it’s required you work there. It’s not easy for me to stay off the computer. It’s an addiction for me. I want to keep up with internet friends. I want to look at what everyone is doing in the quilt world. I have blog envy when I see someone’s blog so organized and pretty with those photo collages at the top. Those blogs are created and written by people who are blog artists. I must constantly remind myself that those pretty and artsy blogs take time. I constantly remind myself I’d rather my time be spent in the studio creating a different kind of art. The kind of art a person can snuggle under or to sit and look at hanging on the wall.

      Hmm…. a baby step is much better than no step at all don’t ya think? If you could see all the dust and cob webs in my house you’d see I don’t get everything done.

  3. pixilated2
    November 17, 2011

    I have been reading here and there on your blog and loving it! Did you ever get around to portrait quilting? (I wanted to post this there, but your comments were closed.) I loved your sketches and your pieced dog! I wonder if you have see quilting arts magazine? They have LOTS of fresh ideas there. I also wonder how you felt when you first started free hand quilting… I suspect there was a bit of fear and trepidation then too. Why should portraits be any different? The old saw says “The most difficult part of any journey is taking the first step.”

    I say, “The most difficult part of quilting is taking the first stitch!”

    I’m glad you’re keeping busy too. That is a very good thing in this economy. 😉
    ~ Lynda

    • Na Na
      November 19, 2011

      Hi Lynda,

      Portrait quilting? Not completely. I’m doing my best to get back into some “me” quilting projects. It’s been way too long. That’s why I’m making new goals for after the holidays. Less about food and more about quilting.

      I would love to have the quilting arts magazine but it’s not in my budget. I don’t know anyone who would be willing to part with old copies either. I watch the show on tv whenever I remember to turn it on. Which is about once every six months. It airs at an inconvenient time and I don’t have a recorder. I’ve gone to the website a few times but it always results in me getting a ton of junk email. Maybe I’ll visit it again after the holidays to see if anything has changed.

      I think I’ll write a post about my early days of machine quilting. It would make an interesting story and too much to put into a comment. Umm…. after the Christmas rush is over.

      • pixilated2
        November 19, 2011

        If you’d like, I have the newest Oct – Nov issue to send. 😉
        farmlet (at) att (dot) net

        Unfortunately, I will not be resubscribing to the magazine because, as you say, money is tight. But I can share!

        If not, I can certainly send you emails with web addresses of all the other wonderful quilters I’ve found.

        Oh yes, and if you haven’t met this young’n, well then, you just have to stop by her site. I have learned so much from her about free motion quilting!

        Leah posts here: http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.com/p/start-here.html

        Lynda

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,641 HITS
