Anita's quilts and quilting

A semi-retired professional longarm machine quilter

Next one finished

I finished another Christmas rush quilt.

Circle Lord swirls quilting

The Circle Lord template is the same I used on another quilt.

Feather design on the outside border

I did a swag design on the inside border.

Swag design on the inside border

A close up look at the swirls design.

Circle Lord swirls

A look at the back.

Swirls design from the back

I have a question for my readers.  I never noticed this before yesterday but when I visit my own blog I can’t enlarge the photos to get a close up look at the stitching.  Is this true for you too?  If no one can enlarge the photos it’s not good.  The whole point of me posting photos is so the reader can get ideas for their own quilting work.  Enlarging the pictures to get close up views is the reason I put them on the blog.  I keep asking myself…. what’s the point of being helpful if it’s not really helpful?

I didn’t have this problem with blogger.  In blogger a reader could click on a photo to get a really good look at the stitching designs.  Can anyone tell me if I’m doing something wrong?  Is there a way to make the photos clickable that I don’t know about here in WordPress?

If I can’t make the photos clickable to enlarge then this creates a dilemma for me.  I don’t feel as if my blog is being helpful.  I still have one of my old blogs in blogger.  I’ve been working with the posts (a little at a time) that did not make the move over here to WordPress.  I want to delete some odds and ends posts and leave only the best tutorial posts.

Should I go back to using blogger?  I don’t want to loose anymore of my readers than I already have by moving here to WordPress.  I need to make some decision about this pretty soon.  Please comment with your thoughts about what I should do or how I can fix the problem.

8 comments on “Next one finished

  1. lw
    November 21, 2011

    You must be so busy getting ready for Christmas! I agree about the photos, but maybe there’s tech support with wordpress?

  2. MJ
    November 20, 2011

    I can not enlarge your photos.

  3. Joyful
    November 19, 2011

    You’re right. I can’t click on your photos to enlarge. Before you move back to Blogger you should search out the solution to your photo issue on Word Press. I’m not on Word Press so I can’t be much help. In a search of similar issues it seems that there have been different changes over the years so I’m not sure what the latest is. It seems to have something to do with your options when you post a photo so try looking at your options and seeing what happens. I’ve got a link here for you to Word Press Help Forum all dealing with photos. Hopefully you can find your answer within these pages. Sorry I couldn’t be more help.
    http://wordpress.org/search/photos

  4. Susan Rizzi
    November 19, 2011

    I can’t click and enlarge your pictures but since I don’t have a blog and never paid attention to what “base” the blogs that have clickable pictures are on I am no help to you. Whatever you decide to do, I will still read you. Your blog is one of my favorites.

  5. Linda in NE
    November 19, 2011

    Nope, I can’t enlarge by clicking either. Maybe it’s a setting in WordPress, you’ll probably have to poke around a little to find it, if that’s what it is.

  6. pixilated2
    November 19, 2011

    Your pictures are not enlarging. BUT, it can be fixed. When you upload the picture DON’T click on the “Presets” under the “Link URL” box. The program will automatically enter a URL code in the box. If you leave it be, then when your or anyone else clicks your photos they will be taken to an enlargement, and if they click again they will get a wonderful close-up view!

    Unfortunately, I have tried several different ways to get the photo to go back to enlarged view, but alas… I haven’t figured it out. I did notice that not all of your photos were static.

    GOOD NEWS: It seems that the problem is only associated with posts starting in September. (When you moved?) So… For future photo uploads to WordPress, DON’T click on the “presets.” and you should be fine!

    Do I have a lot of time on my hands? Did I used to be a teacher and now I am retired?
    YES to both. 😉
    Lynda

  7. Dora
    November 19, 2011

    Anita, I can’t enlarge them on your blog either. I’ve noticed them on several blogs lately, but I didn’t notice if it was just with wordpress.

    Love the Charisma fabric in your latest quilt. I’ve used some of it in several quilts.

  8. Gail
    November 19, 2011

    Love your quilting

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011.

How often do I post?

November 2011
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other subscribers
Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 105,566 HITS