Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Playing again

I took the white whole cloth quilt off my machine because an idea was in my head that just would not go away until I quilted it.  Sorry about the bad photos, I need new batteries.

This is a different type of whole cloth quilting.  Here’s a close up of the stitching. Click on the picture to see better details.

Here’s another close up.

I first saw that chicken done by Janie Donaldson several years ago on our local educational tv station.  It was probably 10 years ago or more.  Janie lived in Paducah, Kentucky and had a quilt show for a couple of years.  I don’t know if she is still there or still quilting.

I bought the pattern but never got around to actually quilting it until now.   I came across it while sorting through some old patterns a few days ago.  I liked the technique then and like it even more now.  It’s one continuous line from start to finish.  Including the extra stitching on the feathers.  Now… if only, I can translate the technique into a design of my own.

I’ve also had some work started on my house.

It’s really a cheap, cheap fix.  On my retirement income this is the maximum I can afford right now.  No new gutters and no new windows.  Just enough work to make it look better.  Five years of debt.  I hate being in debt but it had to be done.  On my retirement income I simply couldn’t save the money fast enough to pay cash.

They aren’t even repairing the wood underneath.  Just covering everything up. The wood patches you see in the photo are patches I paid to get done last year. Oh well, I won’t have to worry about patches or painting anymore.  I may need to take in a few extra quilts so I can make an extra payment now and then.   Ok, thinking about the debt has me depressed.  Gonna go quilt to feel better.

3 comments on “Playing again

  1. lw
    December 6, 2011

    Seems like if you make beautiful things like the rooster, you could auction them off or sell them and pay for the house repairs quicker. It doesn’t feel as much like work if you’re enjoying it.

    • Na Na
      December 8, 2011

      That’s my plan. To make extra payments as often as I’m able. I really hate being in debt. Being in debt is an obligation that requires me to keep working instead of staying retired.

  2. kathi
    December 4, 2011

    i LOVEEE THE CHICKEN!!! it is just AWESOME!! and yes, i can see you creating ALL KINDS of things with that technique. Quilt Central,, was that not the name of her show? I also wonder what she has been up to.

    and to see THE WORK being done on the house. EXCELLENT. It IS NEEDED. and alas, SOME THINGS you HAVE to go into debt over. IT WILL BE GOOD. You can breath a bit of a sigh of relief. and PERHAPS it will help with the HEATING bills.

    YOU are on a ROLL now. SMILE. and try NOT to worry about the debt. We ALL have some kind of debt.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2011 by in Journey 2011.

How often do I post?

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 82,413 HITS
