Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Finished quilt

I did manage to get a quilt finished.

It’s 48″ by 96″ with padded applique centers of the blocks.  My hopping foot did not want to go over the padded areas.  It was easy to bypass them on the front but there were some on the back too.

I really had to work hard to go over those when doing the quilting.  I learned I must say no to anymore of those.  I did stitch in the ditch around the center pieced area and the puffy centers then did a simple outline around the embroidery.  It would have been too difficult to quilt next to all the lines of the design while being careful of the back too.

In order to keep the quilting balanced (even) I did a simple design on the pieced blocks.  If there is more stitching in one area of a quilt and less in another it won’t looked balanced.  It shows up as puckered.

Still keeping the quilting balanced, I did a leaf and curl design on the sashing.  The design starts in the corner stones and meets at half way of the blocks.

Do you see the flower design in the fabric of the sashing and the border?  I used that as a guide for doing the border stitching design.  I also put in a few curls to go along with the curls she did in the embroidery.

That quilt should be picked up by the postal service this afternoon and be on it’s way home to the owner.  I hope she’s pleased with it.

The next one is on the machine waiting for me.  It’s a quilt with plenty of issues.

It’s her first quilt.  It’s made of satin fabrics.  The batting is 1 1/2 inch thick puffy polyester that does not want to behave.  She cut the fabrics with scissors and no template.  She did not pin when piecing.  The seam are varied from 1/16 inch to 1/2 inch.  There’s threads raveling all over the place.  She didn’t iron when piecing or when finished.    Why am I telling you all this? Well, its one of those things a professional machine quilter must deal with if we are to earn a living.  Issue quilt are a big part of earning our money.

Truthfully, I actually love getting quilts like this with plenty of issues.  I enjoy the challenge of finishing a quilt that other machine quilters will turn down.  The lady at the fabric store (who does machine quilting) took one look at it and said she knew of only one person who could or would quilt it.  That person is me.  She knows me very well.  (grin)

 

2 comments on “Finished quilt

  1. lw
    December 9, 2011

    If anyone can do something with the issues quilt, you can. I started quilting using scissors, too, and had very wonky seams. I gave away my first three quilts because I couldn’t stand to look at them. The fourth came out unexpectedly good, because I used templates and very slowly cut the fabric out on pen lines. That’s the one I use at Christmas, it makes me smile to think of one problem solved.

    • Na Na
      December 10, 2011

      I started out doing only crazy quilts because my Grandma Mama wouldn’t let me cut any usable fabric off. Our utility quilts were made from recycled clothing or left over scraps from making clothing. Everything had to be used. It wasn’t until I was a teenager that Grandma Mama let me sew on her special quilts. The ones with pretty applique or her favorite ones; double wedding ring. Grandma Mama made lots of double wedding ring quilts!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,277 HITS
