Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

I’m back

I’ve spent several days at my daughter’s house taking care of Ladybug.  Just when my phone got fixed, and I thought I could write a post or two, she was sent out of town to train a new person for their work team.  So, I got the delightful task of staying with Ladybug a few days at her house.  Of course, taking care of a three year old demands full attention.  Instead of internet blogging time we had tea party times.  Instead of sewing a quilt we had learning to write our letters times.  And so it went over the last few days.

Ladybug does go to day care but my days have been filled with picking up daughter’s layaway’s, breakfast with a friend then visiting a quilt shop going out of business, a monthly shopping trip with my SIL, a visit to the thrift store to pick up some things for making myself new clothes for a new year, and a doctor appointment.  It’s a darn good thing I had the use of my daughter’s car all week.

I’m tired and happy to be back home.  Let me show you how the house looks now.  One side.

This is the other side.

This is how the front looks.

All the bright white and the bright sun made my eyes hurt.   A new mailbox, new house numbers, and paint the porch (in the spring) and I’m all set for awhile.  The siding is only on three sides.  The back of the house wasn’t done nor were there new gutters put on.  It was a matter of finances that prevented those getting done.

A customer has issued me a challenge quilt.  This is what she gave me.

There’s a top she wants made larger.

There’s more fabric.  She wants the darker fabric for the backing and the lighter is for making the top larger.

There are these strips all sewn together that she wants put into the  backing.

There’s also these squares sewn into strips she wants on the back too.

Plus a few more if I need them.

And these designs she gave me if I wanted to use them in the quilting.  She really prefers pretty feather designs so I may do feathers instead.

Also, she wants it finished, including binding, by Christmas Eve if possible. Can I do it?  I don’t know.  I’m not a psychic.  I don’t know the future.  All I can tell her is that I’ll do my best.    She’s ok with it being finished after but is really hoping for before.

I’ve got several thing to get done this week as well.  I’ll start by doing a bit of laundry before heading to the studio.  I’m starting to get excited about the coming new year.  There’s a lot of things I want to finish that have lain around or simply not been done for much too long.

6 comments on “I’m back

  1. lw
    December 18, 2011

    I also love the front door, and the house looks so clean and pretty now. I think only having one week is pretty tight– if you have much else to do it might be pretty hard to do.

    • Na Na
      December 20, 2011

      I told her I would do my best but she’s ok if it doesn’t get finished on time. She already has another one for me to quilt.

  2. Linda in NE
    December 17, 2011

    The house looks great and I love your colorful front door. It says, “A quilter lives here.”

    • Na Na
      December 18, 2011

      Oh you noticed! Yes, it’s supposed to be a quilt.

  3. pixilated2
    December 17, 2011

    I’ve only known you for a bit, but I think if anyone can it would be you! 😉 ~ Lynda

    • Na Na
      December 18, 2011

      Thank you. I appreciate the confidence. I do love challenges.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,203 HITS
