Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

It’s on the machine

I finished putting a border on the quilt and it’s now on the machine.  I added as much as I could and have it still fit on the machine.

This is how I put the extra pieces in the backing.  It was easy to put the extras between two pieces of backing.

This is the design I’ve decided to use on the light area of the front.  I’ve still not decided on a border design or what to do on the dark areas.

When I audition designs I use freezer paper and draw with markers.  I first draw a rough sketch of the area on wax paper.  That’s what you see in red.  I lay the wax paper on top of the quilt top and do the sketch using the seams as a guide.  That’s so I know the actual size I’m working with.

I then lay this wax paper on top of some white paper so I can see it better.  My table is dark which makes it hard for me to see the ink lines.

Then I take another piece of wax paper and lay on top of the first one to do a design sketch.  I repeat with more wax paper until I have a design that I feel looks right.  I can then take the finished design I like and lay it on the quilt for one more look at how it will look on the finished quilt.

I do all my designs freehand so the proportions may change slightly within the design but this is basically the look I will get.  After all, this is the nice thing about doing freehand designs.  I’m free to change while drawing with the threads.  Now it’s time for me to go stabilize the top to the backing.

2 comments on “It’s on the machine

  1. Linda in NE
    December 18, 2011

    Pretty quilting design. Has anyone ever told you you’re an artist?!? 🙂 I have a feeling the owner is going to love their remodeled quilt.

    • Na Na
      December 20, 2011

      Thank you. I’ve said for years that my “art” is in the stitching. I also like to think my “art” is also in the friendships I form when I help others.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2011 by in Customer quilts 2011, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,628 HITS
