Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Quilt finished

It seemed like it was taking forever to finish this quilt.  Only because I had so many other things going on this month though.  Nothing is settled about my mother yet.  I’ll post about what happens as soon as there’s something new.

Here’s the first quilt finished of 2012.  I show quilts folded in half because that’s the only way to take photos on my intake table.  All of these photos should be clickable so you can look closely at the stitching if you want.

1st quilt of 2012

I did a petal design on the flowers using a stitch in the ditch and a stem.  I then put the leaf and curl design in the corners.  The flowers were not appliqued  with identical placement.  The ribbon curls were used to balance the design and could be done to fit the varying spaces.

Here’s a look at it from the back.

On the sashing and corner stones I did a leaf and curl design to go along with the one on the blocks.  This design goes out from the cornerstone to the mid point of each block.

Here’s a view of it from the back.  See how it meets the next one at the mid point?

On the border I did a flower design to carry the theme of the blocks.

Here’s another view from the back.

For the binding I wrapped the backing over the front.  I usually suggest this type when the top piecing has issues.  A not quite straight quilt can be made to look straight with this technique.  I  should have taken pictures to show what I mean but I didn’t think of it until now.

I plan to get the next quilt onto the machine today and start stabilizing it.

 

2 comments on “Quilt finished

  1. Joyful
    January 15, 2012

    It’s a beautifully finished quilt. Sometime this year I plan to take a machine quilting course. However I can’t imagine ever getting to your level of skill. Even if I was half as good, I would be happy. I do not plan on doing any quilting for a living or extra money’ just something for my own enjoyment.

  2. lw
    January 14, 2012

    Wow– if I saw this for sale, I’d buy it– it’s really lovely and very cheerful. The quilting brings out the same cheerfulness as the flowers.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012.

How often do I post?

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,277 HITS
