Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Pink pineapple quilt

I have the next quilt on the machine and it’s stabilized.  You will see that instead of going around the block, as I usually do, I’ve chosen to only go around the solid areas where the block corners meet and the center square of the block.  This is the block corners.

This is the center of the blocks.

Why did I choose to do the stabilizing this way?  Let me explain.  Here I’ve drawn the parts of the block where I plan to put a design.  Can you see the seam lines of the corners under the wax paper?  The stitching would form a cross in the center if I had stitched the blocks as usual. The design I plan to use here would not look right with a line of stitching at those seams.

Here is the design I plan to stitch on this quilt.  Can you see why a stitched line would not look right?  Ok, why did I not do the flower petals between the lines?

Because I want to continue the design coming out from the petals.  Like this.  I couldn’t continue the design if a petal was in the way.

Here is the other section of the block that will get a similar design.

This is the design I plan to stitch on it.

There’s going to be a lot of stops and starts on this quilt.  Stops and starts are time consuming.  It will feel oh so good to spend a few hours stitching away instead of worrying and feeling stressed.

5 comments on “Pink pineapple quilt

  1. pixilated2
    January 19, 2012

    I’m glad you are working things out with the nursing home! What a blessing.
    This quilt is going to be a stunner when it is done, because your design for the stitching is so beautiful! Can’t wait to see the finished article. ~ Lynda

  2. Joyful
    January 19, 2012

    Thank goodness everything is getting settled. Now stitch away and get some relief 😉

  3. kathi
    January 19, 2012

    WHEW. sounds like some EXCELLENT CHANGES have been put into place. GOOD. much MUCH better news. Yes, a LOT of the stress is dissipating. GOOD. GO QUILT. looks like a GREAT quilting plan for that quilt. and yes, LOADS of starts and stops. Do you BURY all those tails? sending HUGS. ENJOY THE DAY!!!

  4. Linda in NE
    January 19, 2012

    I always enjoy it when you show your process for deciding how to quilt a particular quilt. I’m kind of a lazy quilter…I like pantographs. 🙂

    I’m glad to hear, too, that you now have some peace of mind regarding the “Mom situation.” Something like that can just ruin days and days, even when we try not to let it, just because it’s so aggravating.

  5. Judy Wolf
    January 19, 2012

    I’m so glad you got things resolved. Happy Quilting!!

    Judy in MO

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 82,455 HITS
