Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Very busy

Gosh, I didn’t realize it had been so long since I last posted.  (no guilt)  It’s been a very busy time for me.  I finished the 4th and 5th quilt for this year.  This is the fourth one.

The owner wanted the clam shell panto quilting in the center.

I put a leaf design on the border.  No particular reason except it seemed to fit the greens of the fabric.

This is a view from the back.

I can’t show the fifth quilt just yet.  It’s an art quilt.  I spent a little over a week working on it.  I’ll show it when the owner tells me it’s ok to put on my blog.

I like making string quilts.  I’ve made several dozen over the years and given many of them to charity.  I never made a selvage string quilt though.  Well a friend brought me a big bag of selvage strings after cleaning her sewing room.  I did the snoopy happy dance over these.

Naturally, I couldn’t resist pulling them out to play for awhile.  All these have just a bit (about 3/4 of an inch) of the fabric which makes them very interesting to  play with.

I have a vague idea of a quilt I want to make with these.  Nothing definite but a simple idea I’ve had rolling around in my head for quite while.  I just hope there is enough selvages because I don’t know where I can get more if I run out.  Maybe I shouldn’t worry because the bag really is big.

My long time internet friend Kathi, the one I call lil sis, had a new grand baby born this past week. Congratulations Kathi!  Kathi’s and my life seem to mirror each other all the time.  So guess what?  Ok, I’ll tell you without guessing.  Kathi’s grand daughter was born on Ladybug’s birthday.  One more thing we can say is a connection between us.

Margaret has started a new online portrait class this week.  If anyone is interested in learning to make portrait quilts the class is excellent!  I believe there is even a free software program you can get to do the portrait patterns?  I’m not sure so you would need to check with Margaret about it.  I’m repeating the class because it’s been awhile since I took it the first time.  Margaret lets past students repeat for free.  Maybe this year I’ll actually make the quilts for my grands as I had hoped to do last year.

I have the next quilt on the machine ready to start quilting it tomorrow.  Today I really must get some housework done.  I tend to let housework (and just about every thing else) slide by when I’m in the zone working on an art quilt.  Some time in the kitchen is needed too.  My stash of pre-made meals is dwindling and I haven’t made a loaf of bread in three weeks.  Where on earth does the time go?  It’s seems to get away from me very quickly these days.

The neighbors who lost their homes to the fire have moved to other places while their homes are rebuilt.  Luckily, both had insurance.

 

 

5 comments on “Very busy

  1. Margaret
    February 18, 2012

    Love your blog, as always. Thanks for mentioning the online class, but what I really want to ask is if you have shared the bread recipe before? I may have missed it on one of the old blogs. I love to make bread, but not that fond of my usual recipe.

    • Na Na
      March 9, 2012

      I posted the recipe on your site, have you tried it yet?

  2. pixilated2
    February 12, 2012

    How fun! Can’t wait to see what you come up with for the string quilt, and I am very interested in seeing what you’ve done with the art quilt too! ~ Lynda

    • Na Na
      March 9, 2012

      I’m again way behind with the online class. I sometimes feel as if I’m not intended to finish it because so many things happen when I start it. Almost as if God is saying “not yet”.

      • pixilated2
        March 9, 2012

        I am feeling that way about a quilt I want to start. I have everything I need, but for some reason I just can’t get started. I hope you feel well soon! ~ L

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012.

How often do I post?

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,212 HITS
