Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Well heck!

No matter what I “want” to do the demands of “must do” seem to take over my life at times.   I had a dozen things I planned to do over the last few days.  Things I really wanted to accomplish.  But….. the stuff I “had” to do were what I did.  I just wish I didn’t feel so guilty for not accomplishing the stuff I said I would do.

Ok, if I’ve thoroughly confused you, it’s like this.  I had my weeks planned.  Quilts that needed to be finished for the owners.  Margaret’s portrait class I was repeating.  The string quilt I had started and thought I’d have a little time to play around with.   Email replies to friends.  Some organizing of my fabrics/craft supplies and other stuff so I can find what I need before I know I need it.  Garden beds that need turning over in preparation for planting.  Clothes for myself I should make before I wind up nearly naked from the holes in what I currently wear.  (Um… I guess I would be fashionable though.) Videos I wanted to make of machine quilting designs then post.  Blog posts I wanted to write.  You get the idea?

Well, almost none of those things got done.  Almost everyday for the last two weeks something has demanded my time away from what I wanted to do. There are times when I just have to throw up my hands in defeat and go with the flow.  I do what I can and forgive myself for what I can’t or don’t get around to doing.  I must keep reminding myself that I’m not superwoman.  Um… the fairy quilt mother or the quilt genie perhaps but not a super human.

Now that I’ve forgiven myself; maybe my life will settle down a bit and get back on track again.  Let me start with the finished quilts.  This is quilt #6 for 2012.

The owner wanted simple clam shell panto design on it.

It’s a donation quilt.  The pictures don’t really show up the pretty colors.

This is quilt #7 for 2012.  If it looks familiar to you that’s because I did one almost exactly like it a couple of weeks ago.

The owner wanted the clam shell design on this one too.

I did do a freehand design on the borders though.  A simple wavy line on the inside border and a leaf design on the outside border.  The same as the last one I quilted.

Here’s a view of the leaf design from the back.

I’m glad the quilting was quick and easy so I could feel like I did accomplish something.  I’ve got a ton of things to catch up on around the house this weekend.   My curtains are closed and the answering machine is turned on.

You ever think about how it is when a person works outside the home?  In most jobs there is someone to take over the work if that person can’t be there.  Well that doesn’t happen for a one person business.  When I’m not here no one is and the work can’t get done.  I’m like the “Dave” in the commercials that are running a dozen times an hour these days.     I guess my lunch break is over now and it’s time for me to get back to work before I fire myself.

4 comments on “Well heck!

  1. Joyful
    February 25, 2012

    You are so talented. Your quilt work is so stunning. I hope you can carve out a few days for your fun stuff 🙂

    • Na Na
      March 9, 2012

      Yes, I will as soon as I get my sugar count under control again.

  2. grand-player
    February 25, 2012

    These are quite lovely

    • Na Na
      March 9, 2012

      Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,985 HITS
