Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

More progress

I got all the feathers along the outside edge of the quilt finished.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

I also finished the feathers around the center rings.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

Then finished the center medallion.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

Why am I skipping around with the quilting instead of starting at the beginning and quilting to the end?  I hope I can explain this in words so it’s  understandable.

Quilting draws up the fabric in a quilt.  If I simply started quilting at the beginning end and continued quilting to the bottom end it would draw up lots of fabric along the way.  Each advance and quilting of the quilt would draw up more fabric which would create more and more fullness in the part not yet quilted.  By the time I reached the opposite end there would be lots of extra fullness in the part not yet quilted.  I would have a very friendly last border.  (Very friendly means lots of waves.)

In order to keep the extra fullness evenly spaced around the quilt, I skip around with the quilting.  This spreads out the fullness allowing me to deal with it at it occurs.  Quilting the outside feather created fullness around it.  The cross hatched border has the most extra fullness caused by quilting the feather so my next step is to quilt the cross hatched border.  See the extra fullness?

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

Also, quilting the center medallion and the feathers of the rings created fullness in that area.  See what I’m talking about?  I’ll quilt the cross hatching of the ring next after doing the outside edge of the quilt.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

My goal is still to have this quilt finished this week.

 

4 comments on “More progress

  1. Reni
    May 21, 2012

    Quilters have always amazed me. How anyone can do such meticulous, mind-bending work with such patience for the final product is as foreign to me as the concept of the time/space theories. I get the gist, but never the details! Beautiful!

    • Na Na
      May 22, 2012

      Thank you. Glad you like it. Whole cloth quilts are the most difficult for professional machine quilters to do. It takes great patience.

  2. jenyjenny
    May 21, 2012

    Beautiful, thanks for sharing! Now is that whole cloth view the back, or is front and back both out of one big piece of fabric? It really looks stunning out of the one solid color, it showcases the stitching. Is that a long arm quilter you used? The stitches are very uniform looking.

    • Na Na
      May 22, 2012

      Yes, the front is one whole piece of fabric and the back is one whole piece. Whole cloth quilts are created with the intention of showcasing the skill of stitching as well as the artistry of design. I use a longarm machine to quilt. (I’m a professional machine quilter.) Whole cloth quilts take a great deal of patience and skill to follow the drawn lines of the design. It’s a difficult technique and very time consuming to do. Many professional machine quilters won’t accept the work. I’ve had 30 years of practice using a longarm so I don’t turn them down anymore.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2012 by in QUILTS - CUSTOMER, QUILTS - TIPS AND TECHNIQUES.

How often do I post?

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,146 HITS
