Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Nearly finished

I’m still working on the whole cloth quilt.  The owner has decided to pick it up on Saturday which gave me an extra day to get it done.  I finished the cross hatching on the center.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

Now to finish the third row of feathers today.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

And the little flowers that fill spaces between the feathers.  Here’s a look at one flower with a dime for scale of size.

Whole cloth quilt May 2012

Whole cloth quilts are tedious and time consuming but well worth the effort in beauty when finished.

8 comments on “Nearly finished

  1. kathi
    May 25, 2012

    TOTALLY AWESOME and SOO BEAUTIFUL. i just LOVE it and very happy you got “one more day” to work on it. you GOOO girl.

    • Na Na
      May 26, 2012

      Done is good lil’ sis.

  2. Margaret Bucklew
    May 25, 2012

    How beautiful!!! I hope you get paid bunches for this one!!

    • Na Na
      May 26, 2012

      I wish! I got a fair price and that works for me. I’m gonna hate giving this one back to the owner. The more I worked on it, the more I loved it. I can do another one for myself.

  3. pixilated2
    May 25, 2012

    Outstanding work! How do you cross hatch in the middle with the long arm and not have lots of loose ends? I know nothing about the process… can you tell? 😉
    ~ Lynda

    • Na Na
      May 26, 2012

      Thank you Lynda. There was a lot of stops and starts. Sometimes I tie and bury the loose ends. (if paid to do it) Sometimes I do a lock stitch (several stitched in place) to end the line. Stops and starts are very time consuming. Stitching on top of a drawn line is very time consuming too.

  4. Dora, the quilter
    May 25, 2012

    It’s well on it’s way to being absolutely stunning, Anita.
    Do you know anything about the fabric in the quilt–like brand and type? How wide was it?
    I’m sure it will be treasured for years–hopefully for many decades!

    • Na Na
      May 26, 2012

      Dora it was two sheets. One larger than the other to use for the backing. There wasn’t any packaging to know brand of sheet. Cheap sheets work best. More expensive sheets have too high a thread count making it difficult for the needle to penetrate at a fast speed. Some quilters say sheets are not good to use but fail to realize “wide backing” is simply sheet fabric without the hemmed sides.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,146 HITS
