Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Creative drought

The last few days I’ve been feeling like I’d lost my creativity.  My days had felt boring and routine.  I couldn’t seem to get into a mood for simple creating of any kind.  Knitting, crochet, weaving, organizing, cardboard, drawing, sewing, piecing, cooking… nothing seemed to hold my interest more than a short time.  I didn’t want to get on the internet or to blog either.

I needed something to jump start my thought processes again.  I pulled out some of my old quilting magazines to flip through for eye candy and put froo froo music in the cd player for background noise.  Froo froo music is supposed to stimulate creative thinking.

Evidently it worked because I realized I really like the complex style of heirloom quilting.  I’m talking about quilts like this one I did several days ago.

Whole cloth quilt 2012

I’ve always known I love working on “challenge” quilts.  Not just a challenge to create an art quilt but rather a challenge to “get it quilted” type of quilt.  The quilts other machine quilters tend to turn down.  The issue quilts.  The bigger the issue the happier I seem to be.  Give me the quilts with D-cup centers or the ones with extremely friendly borders and I’ll get them nearly flat and square by the time I finish the quilting.

I think I have my creativity back.  I’ve got many creative thoughts running through my head again just begging to be let out.  I guess I should make it a part of my routine to stimulate my creative side each day or each week.  Whatever is needed.

I went back to quilting the current one on the machine with renewed energy.  It’s taking quite a lot of time to do the designs.  It’s a little over half way done.  I started by doing stitch in the ditch around all the border applique.  I’m leaving the inner circles of the applique without stitching so they will pop up like trapunto.  The batting is wool which creates a faux trapunto.

Here’s a photo of the stitching along the outside border.  I did this area first because it’s the area that will usually have the most fullness.  That’s very tiny little dime sized leaves.  It’s a background fill to make the applique pop up.

Sheila W’s quilt 2012

I left the other side to quilt after doing the inside border design.  Why?  So I can work in the fullness created when quilting the area next to it.  This area.

Sheila W’s quilt 2012

I didn’t mark anything for this.  I simply stitched a straight line wherever it felt right.  I like that look.  I plan to do more in the future.  Here’s another area of quilting finished.  The arcs of the wedding rings.

Sheila W’s quilt 2012

I did a flower in these to carry the them of the border design.  I haven’t decided on a design for the center (pieced) area.  I’ll decide that after I finish all the borders.  Now if only I could get myself into the mood to clean the house.  Hmm…. maybe some good housekeeping or southern living magazines would help.  Wish I had some to give it a try.

7 comments on “Creative drought

  1. pixilated2
    June 7, 2012

    Stunningly beautiful, Anita! ~ Lynda

    • Na Na
      June 7, 2012

      Thank you Lynda.

  2. Gloria Mullins
    June 7, 2012

    Beautiful quilting.. When will you be starting my quilt? I thought mine would be on the frame by now. Sorry but I am getting more anxious seeing the ones you show.

    • Na Na
      June 7, 2012

      Ok Gloria, I do three types of quilting. FAST, GOOD, and CHEAP. You may choose only two because I can’t do all three at once. If you choose GOOD and FAST it won’t be cheap. If you choose GOOD and CHEAP it won’t be fast. If you choose FAST and CHEAP it won’t be good.

      Giggle, giggle. That’s the sign at the end of my intake table. I’d been looking for an excuse to write it on my blog. You stepped right into it for me. Another saying I have on the wall by my machine is: “Anita, if you don’t take the time to do it right the first time, how will you ever find the time to take it apart and do it over?”

      Seriously, Gloria your quilt really is next. I know your getting anxious. Unless something happens it should be on the machine by Monday. I promise to be just as careful with your quilt. Hmm…. should I keep it a secret by not posting photos until it’s completely finished? Could you stand the suspense? Naw, I won’t be that cruel. I’ll keep you posted on progress.

      • Gloria Mullins
        June 7, 2012

        Thanks Anita – we are leaving town on the 12th to see my daughter and her family in FL. We will be gone about 10-14 days. I will be on my laptop and my cell phone. I am only getting more excited seeing your beautiful work. Thanks again!!!!!

  3. Dora, the quilter
    June 7, 2012

    Really beautiful, Anita. Love the tiny leaves, but I especially love the feathered arcs with the blooms at the center. This will be a really beautiful one.

    • Na Na
      June 7, 2012

      Thanks Dora. The blooms and feathers are a part of the “creativity” I got back. I used the tiny leaves for the background because I thought the quilt deserved more than just meandering to flatten the background.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,985 HITS
