Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Done is good

I did finish Sheila W’s quilt.  It’s now on it’s way home to South Carolina.  Do you see the wedding rings?  I’ve seen this design before but don’t remember where at the moment.  It’s an easy version of sewing straight lines but you get the illusion of curved piecing.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

Here’s the side arcs.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

I did a simple flower in the corners.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

I did the flower that reminded me of butterfly wings on the pieced blocks.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

I did a leaf meander to flatten the background around the applique.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

Everybody loves feather designs so here’s a close up of the feathers on the outside arcs.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

A close up of the flower that connects the two side feathers.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

Here’s a look at the back of the quilt.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

The center of the back is pieced.  Two quilts in one.

Wedding ring quilt 2012

Pieced backs look nice.  Pieced backs help bust the stash if your participating in that.  BUT….. pieced backs sure can be a headache for a machine quilter if not done correctly.  The grain of the fabric must be going in the same direction or else you get tucks in the back.  A straight grain next to a cross grain is the reason.  The cross grain will be very slack while the straight grain will be taught.  Sheila did it perfectly and I didn’t see a single tuck anywhere.

Today is a day of rest.  Well, sort of.  What I mean is that I won’t be on the quilting machine.  The quilting machine is my job.  It is my salary.  The income is what I use to pay the bills.  Sunday is my day off.  Tomorrow I’ll get started on Gloria’s quilt.

2 comments on “Done is good

  1. Gloria Mullins
    June 10, 2012

    It is beautiful!!!!!

    • Na Na
      June 11, 2012

      I start on your quilt today.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,277 HITS
