Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Nancy’s angels

Finally able to show photos of Nancy’s quilt.  Nancy collects angels.  She’s said for several years she wanted an angel quilt.  Have you ever tried to find angel fabrics?  It’s not as easy as you’d think.  But anyway, I gave her angel and dove fabrics for Christmas last year.  Those fabrics are now in a queen size quilt.  I think she did a pretty good job of making this one.

Nancy's angels

The center angel was a Michael Miller panel.  It wasn’t made straight and nothing I did to it would make it straight.  The companion fabric was pieced to form a cross shape behind the center panel.

Nancy's angels

The blocks around the center angel are the dove and angel fabrics so I did angels and doves as the quilting designs.  It’s hard to see but this one is doves.

Nancy's angelsHere’s a view from the back.

Nancy's angelsThe angels.

Nancy's angelsFrom the back.

Nancy's angels

I have the doves and angels as stencils but I chose to do them freehand.  Which is why the wings are not quite right and the dove tails too rounded.  I wanted to save time.  Marking stencils takes time.  Removing the marks after quilting takes more time.  Freehand was the best option. There was a ton of starts and stops while quilting this one.

Nancy's angels

 

The center angel from the back.

Nancy's angels

I finished the binding a couple of days ago.  I hope to finish the hanging sleeve today.  I’m still working on my own quilt.  The loss of power two times has thrown my schedule out of whack.  I also have bursitis in my right elbow and shoulder.  This is making it difficult to do the tiny designs of my quilt.  I have medications that are helping though.  I’m really hoping nothing else goes wrong and I finish it by the end of this week.  I’m so ready to start working on something different.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “Nancy’s angels

  1. susan r
    August 4, 2012

    That quilting is amazing! I would be so tempted to display it with the backing on top – was going to say wrong side up but can’t bring myself to call the backing the wrong side!

    • Na Na
      August 9, 2012

      Thank you. I like the underside too.

  2. kathi
    August 1, 2012

    AAWESOMELY BEAUTIFUL.

    • Na Na
      August 9, 2012

      Thanks lil’ sis

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,127 HITS
