Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

What’s taking so long?

I don’t know what possessed me to choose this design for my fair entry quilt?  Here’s what’s taking so long to get it finished… other than that my daughter had to be out of town for a few days and Ladybug stayed with me.  It’s extremely difficult to work when a Ladybug want’s Na Na’s full attention.

I wanted a flat background behind the candlewick characters of this quilt.  I didn’t want micro-stippling as most people do.  I wanted something different.  I’m hoping the judges are looking for something different too.

Candlewick quilt 2012

The  photo doesn’t show how really dense the stitching is.  The line dance of the small circles are about the size of a quarter.  I used those to semi-flatten the overall background.  The straight lines make the characters pop out nicely.  I tried to get a close up photo of how close the lines are but it’s very difficult.  I have between 20 and 30 lines per inch.  I have my machine set to do about 20 stitches per inch too.  That’s a LOT of tiny straight line stitching on a full size quilt.  A little over kill maybe but it’s what was required in order to get the look I was after.  Can you see how the subtle thread color showcases the character as well as make it pop up?

Candlewick quilt 2012

 

This quilt has 47 blocks with quilted roses between the blocks.  All the roses and the characters have the lines to flatten the background.  Here’s a rose before the stitching was done around the rose.

Candlewick quilt 2012

 

Here’s after.  Sorry the photo is so dark.  It was late.

Candlewick quilt 2012

I know I’ve neglected my blog lately and now you know why.  I had planned to enter another quilt in the fair.  That’s not going to get finished.  This quilt has to be finished by Friday evening so it can be dropped off on Saturday.   I still have quite a bit to do before the quilting is done.  Then the binding and the hanging sleeve must be done too.  My scheduled quilting work is piling up and my house needs a serious cleaning.  If I get everything done that I should do I’ll be too tired to attend the fair.  I’ll be back to posting more when this quilt is finished.

 

4 comments on “What’s taking so long?

  1. Linda in NE
    August 8, 2012

    That’s going to be one amazing quilt!! Hope the judges appreciate it. Forget the “shoulds” and go to the fair. Why do we always worry about the “shoulds” anyway?? They will be around long after we are history.

    • Na Na
      August 9, 2012

      Ummm…. thank you. That’s just what I needed to convince me to go to the fair after all. You reminded me of why I semi-retired in the first place. I keep forgetting. A ribbon would be nice but even if the judges don’t appreciate it, they aren’t the one who will eventually live with it. I’m happy with it and it goes on my bed. The judges look at it once and move on. I’ll be looking at it every time I go into my bedroom. 🙂

  2. Dora, the quilter
    August 8, 2012

    It is son interesting that you chose close straight lines instead of stippling.
    Back in the late 70’s and early 80’s when several well known figures in the quilt world first began taking about stippling on antique quilts, they defined it as very close “random” stitches. However, when I looked at the antique quilts, I did not see random stitches. What I saw were very close rows of quilting stitches,such as you’ve done, except on the antique quilts they were done by hand. So what the quilt authorities with limited quilt making experience themselves saw as random were actually just many lines of very close quilting. Because the stitches did not fall into exactly the same place on each row, they saw them as random.and the misunderstanding has blossomed into wandering lines of machines stitching–which I’ve done but really dislike.
    Good luck on your quilt entry.

    • Na Na
      August 9, 2012

      That’s interesting because I saw just straight lines in several old quilts too. Even though the description of those quilts said it was stippling. I thought I was looking at them wrong. I kept looking for ways a hand stitcher would create stippling and it always looked far too complicated to accomplish.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2012 by in QUILTS - CONTESTS, QUILTS - FOR ME.

How often do I post?

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,636 HITS
