Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Another finish

I can cross another quilt off the list.

It’s a large quilt.  She wanted  modern quilting on it.  Ok, I didn’t know exactly what she meant by modern so I did a bit of research.  Personally, I don’t see a difference in modern and old.   Straight line is straight line.  Diamonds are diamonds.  Squares are  squares and so forth.  People have been using the same designs for generations.  Only the method of putting the designs on the quilts has changed.  I’ve always thought of the stitching designs as either feminine or masculine.  Feminine has froo-froo and masculine doesn’t.    Well anyway this is the finished quilt.

I did straight lines on the outside border.  The backing was wrapped to the front for the binding.

I did random straight lines on the corner pieced area and random angles along the inside border.  The customer didn’t want things perfectly lined up.

 

I did diamond Greek key design on the diamond shapes.

I did ….. whatever you’d call this…. on the squares.  Up/down then side/side for the design.   Reminds me of refrigerator coils.

 

Here’s another photo of the designs up close.

 

Here is a look from the back.  I think it turned out pretty nice.

It feels good each time I can cross something off the list.   (walking away from the computer and mumbling to myself)  Hmm…. which quilt is next?  Ok, which one of you has been calling my name?  I heard you all night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “Another finish

  1. Margaret Bucklew
    September 20, 2012

    Ok! You’ve just named the pattern as “refrigerator coils”. Yay! now we have a fun name for it! As always, each of your stitches adds such beauty to the finished piece. Love your blog!! Margaret

    • Na Na
      September 20, 2012

      Thank you Margaret.

  2. Marilyn
    September 19, 2012

    Anita – I LOVE your “modern” quilting. It looks great!!!

    • Na Na
      September 23, 2012

      Thank you Marilyn. I’ll probably get more of it requested as more quilters do the modern designs.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2012 by in Customer quilts 2012, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,636 HITS
