Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Organizing the UFOs

Sometimes I hide quilts in progress.  I don’t want the person (or persons) the quilts are being made for to see them before I get them done.  The problem with me is that I hide the gift so very well… (sigh)… even I can’t find it.

I used to keep a list of my UFOs in a notebook.  I tried, really I did, to organize the UFOs so I wouldn’t loose them so often.  I put UFOs into numbered bags and listed each one by number in a notebook.   Those bags would go into a big storage bin.

UFO bins

Quilt UFO bins

Eventually that storage bin disappeared beneath other stuff.  Flat surfaces just beg to have STUFF put onto them.  Big bins have big flat surfaces.  Whenever I would think about finishing a UFO it would be way to difficult to locate.  First I’d have to uncover the bin.  Which meant finding new flat surfaces for whatever was on top of the bin.  This might not sound so terrible unless you knew how many layers I had piled on top of that bin.  Geeze, it’s like a lasagna of STUFF.  Layer upon layer upon layer.

When the bin finally got uncovered there would be dozens of numbered bags inside.  I’d have my list in hand; but, the list told me nothing except what I called each UFO on whatever date I started it.  My senior mind has real trouble remembering things by just a list.  I’d find myself going through each and every bag to see what I had in it.  This didn’t really help either.

Where'd the flat surface go?

Flat surfaces for stuff

I’ve tried several different ways over the years to keep track of my current projects but I always, always, lost things.  I keep trying to come up with the “one that works” for me.  I even used a list on my blog during the Christmas rush.  Let me tell you of my latest attempt.  Have you seen the UFO lists that have been included on many quilter blogs around blog-land?  Yes, a list is very helpful but I’ve added a new twist to help my senior mind remember.

I created a page at the top of my blog. The page is a UFO list.  I listed each of my UFOs and included a photo.  I’ll add new UFOs as I find them (or create new ones) and I’ll write notes to myself there too.  Hopefully this will help me finish all the UFOs this year.

Hmm…. maybe not.  Knowing what a UFO is and where it’s located does not get it done.  Getting it done will be up to me.

The list is not complete because I’m still sorting and purging STUFF from the hoarding storage room.  When one of these UFOs is completed I’ll add a link to the post showing the finish.  The photos will become a before and after documentation.

Another thought…. computers and I don’t always get along.  Sometimes the computer has to go to the computer doctor for a virus. I’m printing out my UFO list each time something is added.  I’ll have a backup just in case.  I think listing my UFOs in public view will give me more incentive to finish than a plain numbered list in a notebook.  Seeing a photo is more understandable than a description.

What do you think?  Will this be better than a simple listing?

5 comments on “Organizing the UFOs

  1. Lynda
    January 22, 2013

    I feel your pain…

  2. Dora, the quilter
    January 20, 2013

    Oh, my! Your UFO history sounds so much like mine–especially the “flat surfaces” parts!

    • Na Na
      January 20, 2013

      Giggle, happens to the best of us doesn’t it.

  3. kathi
    January 20, 2013

    well, sounds like a plan Anita. if the list is not working, you do need something else.
    and OF COURSE you just reminded me i NEED to get to a few UFO’s myself. SIGH.

    • Na Na
      January 20, 2013

      Hmm…. a nap first, ok?

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2013 by in QUILTS - ORGANIZING.

How often do I post?

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 82,455 HITS
