Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Na Na explains how insulation works

I originally wrote this information back in the late 1970’s or early 1980’s.  It was a part of a book I attempted to write.  That book, like many others I started, never got finished. Why?  Because in my whole life no one ever believed in me enough to support my efforts.  No one believed in me but me.  It’s hard to be encouraged to continue something when I’m the only one speaking.   I added it as a blog post in March of 2008.  That post lost it’s photos on the move from blogger to wordpress in the fall of 2010.  I came across it a couple of days ago while fixing some of the old posts.  Anyway, here it is re-written once again for the readers of my blog.  I updated it a bit to fit today’s world.

Na Na’s thoughts about home insulation

Even though insulation is one of the most important (and boring) issues of today, many people just don’t know how it actually works.  I certainly don’t.  I’ve read dozens of articles in my how to books and done countless internet searches to read online websites about how to insulate and weather strip my home.  I found they are all full of technical terms I truly don’t understand.  Like this line from a tube of caulking.  “When caulking your windows, be sure to put a one-eight-inch bead of polyvinyl-butylacetate caulking between the jamb and the main soffitt, adjacent to the eve cornice, taking care not to dislodge the….”

Now honestly I’ve looked at my windows and I cannot for the life of me locate any of those things.  All I have in my windows are pieces of wood and poisonous spiders.  I don’t have the vaguest idea where to put the caulk.  This is a problem because, as you may have noticed, caulking guns are designed so that as soon as you pick them up the caulk starts oozing out.  It keeps oozing out until there is none left.  This is a clever ploy by the caulk manufacturers to keep themselves employed when many others are getting layed off.

Well anyway, I end up standing outside the window looking for the eve cornice with caulk oozing onto my flip-flop clad feet.  I finally give up, smear some caulk on the spiders, and go inside.

So I thought, as a public service, I would explain home insulation in laymen’s terms. Laymen’s terms is a secrete code for…. “words that any idiot can understand”.   To make it easy for me to write, and for you to read, I will use a handy question and answer format.  That’s where I make up some questions and then answer them too. Sort of like talking to myself.  Yes, I do that.  I hold some pretty good conversations with myself when no one’s looking.  And heck, it’s a lot easier than answering real questions.

QUESTION:  How does insulation work?

ANSWER:  Try this little experiment.  Make yourself a good stiff gin and tonic.  Be sure to put in plenty of ice.  Now drink it quickly.  Notice how cold the glass feels?  Now make yourself another stiff gin and tonic…. only this time  wrap a paper towel around the glass before you drink it quickly.  Notice how much warmer your hand feels?  Even your stomach feels warmer doesn’t it?  Try this experiment a few more times and you’ll have all kinds of insight into insulation.  It works fairly well on understanding the wall street crisis or the middle east crisis too.

QUESTION:  What is “R-value”?

ANSWER:  Nobody knows.  It’s just one of those terms the professional insulation guys make up and toss around to confuse the heck out of us laymen.  They get paid more for using big words.  “Relative humidity” is another example of those terms.

QUESTION:  Should I use blown in insulation?

ANSWER:  Hmm… blown in insulation is fine…. if you don’t mind the taste of insulation in your mouth and wads of spit covered insulation all over the place.

QUESTION:  How much insulation do I need?

ANSWER:  The equivalent to about 10,000 yards of quilting stash fabric worth.  You want the insulation to fill every hidden nook and cranny you can find.  Just like when you hide your newest fabric stash purchases from your significant other.

QUESTION:  How do the energy tax credits work?

ANSWER:  As I understand the law, if you sincerely believe in conserving energy, you can deduct all the money you spend on anything.  Go back and do the drink test again.  It will help you understand the tax credit much better.

Well, that’s enough clear, step by step information to get you started on insulating your home.  If you have any further questions write them on a three by five file card, lay it on the work table of your quilting room, and wait a few days.  In no time at all you won’t worry about unanswered questions.  Can’t find the table?  In the bottom of a fabric crumbs drawer will do fine.

2 comments on “Na Na explains how insulation works

  1. kathi
    January 22, 2013

    YOU REALLY DO need to WRITE THAT BOOK Anita. i was ROARING with laughter. oh YES, IF I DRANK GIN i am SURE i would have done THAT test. giggle. and just ANOTHER GOOD REASON to NOT wear flip flops.. giggling hysterically. THANKS. i NEEDED that.

    • Na Na
      January 25, 2013

      I thought you’d be the one to appreciate the explanation. We know each other so well.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2013 by in ENERGY SAVING IDEAS.

How often do I post?

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,203 HITS
