Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Another February finish

I have another finished quilt to show.  I believe this is a “modern” quilt so I did modern quilting designs.

Black, white, and red quilt

Black, white, and red quilt

There was extra fullness in the center area.  I chose designs that would fix that issue.  The piecing design is all lines and angles.  The fabric designs have many circles, swirls, and repeating elements so I decided to use some of those for the stitching designs.  I did circles in the large squares.  Circles because there are many circles in the fabrics.

Circle Lord circles

Circle Lord circles

I did a leafy vine type design on the long narrow pieces.  No particular reason other than it had angles and was easy to do.  You probably can’t see it in the narrow strip next to that but I did a swirl design.  You see the black swirl in the fabric?  That was what I used as inspiration to create the swirls I stitched on the narrow fabric strip.

Leafy vine design

Leafy vine design

I did a simple flower design on the small individual squares.  Flowers have nothing to do with the type of fabric.  It just gives an unexpected element in a very few areas.   It goes with the leafy vine design.

A swirl design

A swirl and a flower

The four patches got back and forth lines in opposite directions.  The piece next to it got a traveling in (or traveling out) square line design.  On the pieces above and below those you can see the loop design.

Straight line design

Straight line design

I did a leaf design on the border and then went back to echo the design.  Why?  Well the black of the border was the only fabric without any texture or pattern.  It looked way too stark against all the texture of the center.  I started to do a straight line design and then thought it would overwhelm the center area.  This design has lines and swirls but also the angles to compliment the center.

Echo leaf border design

Echo leaf border design

What do you think?  Does the border design help the quilt?  The photos should be clickable to a larger size so you can get a better look.  The best one to see the border design next to the center is the first photo.  I don’t have photos of the back because the stitching doesn’t show up.

7 comments on “Another February finish

  1. susan r
    March 14, 2013

    As always, your quilting really makes the quilt.

  2. ballerina
    March 4, 2013

    absolutely perfect border!!! Love the whole quilt. The quilting absolutely makes the quilt!

    • Na Na
      March 5, 2013

      Thank you.

  3. Diane Kennedy
    March 4, 2013

    What is the name of the pattern for the black,white and red quilt? I like it very much.

    • Na Na
      March 5, 2013

      The pattern is “Turning Twenty Again” and is made from fat quarters. There were lots of these tops brought to me back when I was quilting full time. I really like the scrappy look to them too.

  4. Marilyn
    March 4, 2013

    Nice work, Anita, as always…

    • Na Na
      March 5, 2013

      Thank you Marilyn. I’m glad to see you’re feeling better and back to some sewing.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2013 by in Customer quilts 2013, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,127 HITS
