Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

A quilt repair

This is the quilt currently on the machine.  It was brought to me for repairs.  I’m known as the “magic quilt fairy” around here because  I take the quilts that other machine quilters won’t or can’t do.

Batik quilt for repair 2013

Batik quilt ready for repairs

The quilt has many seams coming apart.  The black fabric is the trouble areas.  It appears to be a combination of difficult pattern, inexperienced piecer, and cheap fabric.  Anyway, some problem places are marked with masking tape which is helpful.

Tape marking a seam coming apart

Tape marking a seam coming apart

Some places are simply open and ready to ravel.  See the upper half of the leaf on the far left.

Raveling fabric

Raveling fabric

Some places are not very apparent at first.  As I work on the quilt I’m finding lots and lots of small places to repair.

March 2013 039

Here is another place where the fabric has completely raveled out of the seam.  There are lots of these too.

March 2013 041

When I was first looking over the quilt, to see what I needed to do, I found way too many places to repair it by hand.   One or two places I could probably handle but not as many as this quilt has.  Onto the machine is the only option.

March 2013 025

So how do I plan to repair all the places I found? Here’s a little hint.   Squiggle, squiggle, squiggle.  Stop.  Turn.  Squiggle, squiggle, squiggle.  Stop.  Turn.  Squiggle, squiggle, squiggle.

Yup, I’m doing a serpentine line over every black fabric in the quilt.  No need to look for spots to repair.  Just do it all.

Squiggle, squiggle, squiggle

Squiggle, squiggle, squiggle

I know it’s very difficult to see the stitching.  That’s the way it should be.  Here try another look.

More squiggle lines

More squiggle lines.  Not the large squiggle line but the tiny ones on the black fabric.

I wanted to repair the quilt without making the repairs very evident.  The serpentine line holds the fabric and in appearance it could have been done when it was first quilted.  I used clear thread to help hide the stitching.  Clear thread won’t distract from the quilt design.   Doing it all will prevent the quilt from coming back for more repairs later.  Why put a band-aid on it when I can do the whole thing and know it’s the best it can be?

One comment on “A quilt repair

  1. Theresa Alslup
    March 21, 2013

    You did this exactly the right way. I would have been tempted to use fabric glue and it would have shortened the life of the quilt when the chemicals eventually dissolved the fabric.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2013 by in Customer quilts 2013, QUILTS - CUSTOMER, QUILTS - WITH ISSUES.

How often do I post?

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,277 HITS
