Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Quilt finish

Where did June go?  Here it is the middle of July already.  I’ve been busy in the kitchen canning almost everyday.   The mobile food bank is giving out lots of produce these days and I process it as fast as I’m able.  The neighbors have pretty much stopped learning to can.  I believe it’s just much easier to get the food from me so why bother.   I’ll continue as much as I am able.  Yesterday I canned Monkey butter.  It’s really a banana jam.

Aww, ghee whiz.  It seems when it rains, it really pours!  Let’s see, hmm, what has happened the last month?  The furnace/AC died.  The refrigerator died.  I’m using a dorm size replacement.  My mortgage company is gonna try to foreclose on my house when I make the very last payment.  In 25 years of never missing a payment AND paying extra principle every month….. I don’t think so!  Mathematically that doesn’t add up.  I did some research and it seems OCWEN steals homes with built up equity.  I really need to find a good lawyer.   Check these links to read more about how ocwen is stealing homes.    OCWEN #1     OCWEN#2 

Oh, yes, my computer caught a nasty coupon drop down virus.  I tried to fix it myself and of course I couldn’t.  Called a computer guy who came to fix it.  He was more interested in me getting a new computer.  Well, DUH, if I could afford to buy a new computer I would have done that instead of paying the cost for someone to look at this one.  My computer is worse now than it was before he arrived.

Mom has been acting up again so I’ve spent more time at the nursing home.  Her reality is slipping in and out.  Sometimes I’m her daughter and sometimes I’m her Mommy.   She talks about events that happened years and years ago.  She talks to invisible people and I play along.  Who knows?  It could be angels hanging around her and I don’t want to offend them.

The light bulbs in my kitchen burned out.  They are shop lights.  The cost is about $15 for two.  Not in the budget this month so I’m using the stove hood light or natural light from the window.

There is  more happenings.  I don’t want to be a complainer.  Let me just say, I’m hanging on…. barely.  Now I’m starting to depress myself.

So let me change the subject and show the next quilt finished.  A bright quilt to brighten up my mood.  Here it is on the intake table.  When the lady picked it up, she said she LOVED it.  So modern looking.  She liked the back better than the front.

FOODS 2013 253

I did a leaf, vine, curl, design on the outside border.  I used a blue green color thread.  My intention is to hold the layers together with pleasing stitching but not overwhelm the work of the piecer.

FOODS 2013 254

Here’s a better view.  You see?  The stitching is there and it can be seen but it becomes a part of the design.  On the back the stitching is the focus.

FOODS 2013 255

This is a picture of the back.  This area is near the bottom of the quilt.  I used a gold thread for the  SID work.  The gold thread became a part of the design of the pieced work.  Click the photo to enlarge it.

FOODS 2013 258

I did a line dancing design on the pieced blocks.  I somehow missed taking a photo of it on the front but here is a close up of the back showing it.

FOODS 2013 260

On the black fabric I decided to go with a dark color thread but not a black.  I used this.  It’s called Pansy.  It only shows up when the quilt is in bright light.

FOODS 2013 276

I did a back and forth (pacing) design on the black sashing.  I couldn’t get a good photo of it on the front.  Here it is from the back.  You can also see the line dancing of the pieced blocks and the leaf type design I did on the inside border.

FOODS 2013 256

Here is another look at the stitching from the back.  I did enjoy doing this work.

FOODS 2013 257

The next one is on the machine.  I’ve been working on it for a week.  In between all the happenings around here.  I hope to finish it today but who knows what the day will bring.

9 comments on “Quilt finish

  1. Cindy Nielsen
    July 16, 2013

    Anita. I am so sorry that things are coming at you like this. I really hope you can find lawyer to keep your house. I have never heard of such things. Take care. Cindy

    • Na Na
      July 18, 2013

      We have laws in Kentucky that protect us from people like that. Right now what I need is more proof, which I’m working on. I talked to a very nice person at the Federal Consumer Protection office. I was advised how to proceed and build my case while I search for a lawyer.

      • Cindy Nielsen
        July 18, 2013

        Anita you are awesome. I don’t think you let too much get you down for very long. Keep going and I know you will get to the bottom of this and straighten it all out.
        Take care, Cindy

        • Na Na
          July 18, 2013

          Thank you Cindy. A friend once told me that when a boulder falls into my path I simply walk around it and keep going without stopping. 🙂
          Yup, that’s me.

  2. Rebecca (Becky) Hodgson
    July 16, 2013

    Your quilting is exquisite! I love the different color threads. I think I like the back better too. It shows off your beautiful quilting!

    • Na Na
      July 18, 2013

      Thank you Becky, I’m sure glad you like it. I did worry a little. I’m looking forward to another one.

  3. kathi
    July 16, 2013

    OH ANITA!! what a TERRIBLE time you have been going thru!!!! It’s just one thing after another. BUT the possibility OF LOOSING your HOME? oh HECK NO!! that is JUST NOT ALLOWED to happen.. YES. FIND A LAWYER. I would think there is a “legal aid society” near you. Even we have one here. The one article about the mortgage company said that LETTING PEOPLE KNOW what is going on could be this company’s WORST nightmare. so. i did post a link to the story on facebook. It’s a start. CANNOT HAPPEN.
    sending you love and hugs and a TON of PRAYERS. HANG TUFF. remember, it is always darkest before the dawn. IT WILL GET BETTER. when? not a clue. BUT IT WILL.

    • Na Na
      July 18, 2013

      You know me. I’m not gonna give up. Especially after hanging onto it for 25 years no matter what happened. Even when the utilities were turned off and there wasn’t any food… I paid the house payment. No way am I gonna let someone walk in here and take what I worked so hard to keep!!

      Our legal aid society can’t help me. Budget cuts. Said they can only help if it goes into foreclosure. I don’t want it to get that far. I have a few aces up my sleeve. I’m studying the real estate laws here in Kentucky as best I can. I get the librarian to help me find information to read. Much of the information is above my head but I understand enough to ask questions. So I call places and ask questions about what I’ve read. most people don’t mind explaining stuff when I tell them why I need to know.

      I’m still looking for a good lawyer.

      • kathi
        July 19, 2013

        yes, every state has a legal department that watches over the citizens. right? If you are already working with the feds, GOOD. also. check the better business burea in your area. They helped me tremendously with an issue with Talk America. FIND the lawyer . I am sure you will. sending MORE prayers and a LOT of cyber hugs.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2013 by in Customer quilts 2013, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,751 HITS
