Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Eeewww! Stinky.

Last Monday, a week ago, I had to pick up my things from the fair.  Do you know what 30 jars of opened foods, that have been setting on a display shelf for two weeks, smells like?  Trust me, it’s awful.

Jars from the fair now ready to be washed and put away

Jars from the fair ready to be washed and put away

I was tempted to throw all the jars into the trash but that would be against my nature.  I’m too thrifty to throw away perfectly good canning jars when a thorough wash will make them good again.   Well how did I do at the fair?  See for yourself.

Ribbons from the canning category of the fair 2013

Ribbons from the canning category of the Kentucky state fair 2013

Five 1st, two 2nd, and two 3rd in the canning category.  One 2nd for a blueberry pie entered into a cooking contest, and two 2nd for my quilts.

Heratege hall is the senior room

Heritage hall is the senior room and where I entered a pie for a cooking contest

I really didn’t expect to win so many ribbons for the canning.  I thought maybe at most I would win two or three and not necessarily first.  I was told I would have won more ribbons but Tattler lids are not allowed.  They aren’t USDA approved so those jars were disqualified.  Well DUH!  Why wasn’t that stated in the rules?  Or told to me when I dropped them off for judging?  I could have gone home and gotten jars with metal lids.  I had to go home anyway to get rings so it wouldn’t have been a problem picking up different jars of food too.  I had forgotten to put rings back on some of my jars which is why I went all the way back home to get some.  OK, I’m not complaining, just questioning why it isn’t stated in the rules or why I wasn’t told.  I’m happy that someone verified I did a good job on the canning.  It feels good to get recognition.

My SIL went with me to pick up her quilt.  We each had a wheeled cart to take things to the car.  When we got to her house I noticed one of my quilts was missing.  YIPE!  I made a mad dash back to the fairgrounds hoping against hope that it was there someplace.  YES!  Some kind person had found it in the hallway just outside the canning area and turned it in.  I was lucky and very thankful to whoever it was.

10 comments on “Eeewww! Stinky.

  1. Joyful
    September 8, 2013

    Wow! Congratulations on all your ribbons. You did great! I’m sorry they didn’t state the rules more clearly. It is always irksome to me (too) when things aren’t clearly stated at the outset.

    • Na Na
      September 10, 2013

      Thank you. Next year I know not to include anything with Tattler lids on them. I also put in the suggestion that it be included in the rules. Our fair listens to the suggestions and makes the changes when possible. A few added words is easy and very likely to be done.

  2. Michelle
    September 4, 2013

    I had seen on the State Fair’s website where you’d won a ribbon on a one of your quilts. I must have missed all the other ribbons, especially since I wasn’t looking in the canned foods sections. Congratulations on all your wins! It does so much to validate what you are doing. I’m just now starting in putting up food rather than purchase everything I need from the grocer.

    Hope to get up to see you again soon. We’re quite busy with Ben and marching band right now but that will slow down around November/December.

    • Na Na
      September 7, 2013

      I’m looking forward to that day! Hugs to all of you.

  3. Bev Weis
    September 2, 2013

    Anita, big congrats to you on your success at the fair. I salute you for doing the work that canning requires. It’s really a shame that all that food in the jars is wasted. There must be a better way. Very happy for you that your quilt was not lost. I enjoyed seeing your textiles
    on the one evening I was there to view them. You are a very talented woman.

    • Na Na
      September 7, 2013

      Thank you Bev, I feel that way about your work. Are you going to the Bluegrass Quilt Festival? Did you enter a quilt?

  4. Lynda
    September 2, 2013

    If they were even the least bit bubbly I think I would have thrown them out. 😉

    And WOW! You did far better than you gave yourself credit for when you dropped everything off! Great work, Anita!

    • Na Na
      September 7, 2013

      Yes, I think many would but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

  5. kathi
    September 2, 2013

    HURRAY for all the ribbons!!! BOOOH for them not telling you some lids were unacceptable. HURRAY for the QUILT ribbons and WHEW you found your quilt. Sounds like it was all GREAT fun. well, except for the stinkey jars. I can just imagine what THAT smelled like……UGGGH.

    • Na Na
      September 2, 2013

      Yeah, I do like the fair. I only got to go once this year because of Mom. But, there will be other fairs God willing.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2013 by in Contest quilts 2013, QUILTS - CONTESTS.

How often do I post?

September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 84,323 HITS
