Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Two finished

I finished two quilts.  Here is the first one.

Quilts 2013 024The owner wanted either all over quilting or light quilting on both of her quilts.  There was an all over design I really wanted to try out and this one was perfect for it.  I did a chevron design.  I really like it!

Quilts 2013 026

Ok, here is a look from the back of the quilt.

Quilts 2013 028

On the outside border I did a simple piano key design to compliment the simplicity of the chevrons.

Quilts 2013 025

Here is a look at that from the back too.

Quilts 2013 027The idea of the light or overall quilting is to keep the wool batting rather puffy so it can trap a layer of air between the person and cold air.  Wool with it’s loft is what makes the quilt very warm without a lot of weight.

Here is the second quilt finish.  This one really called for more custom quilting than an overall design so I did simple designs that would not mat down the wool fibers.

Quilts 2013 031

I did a simple outline around the applique blocks and stitch in the ditch of all the blocks with clear thread.

Quilts 2013 035

On the solid blocks I did a type of leaf design that mimicked the corner to corner of the applique.

Quilts 2013 036It’s hard to see the stitching because the brass color thread disappears into the fabric.  Click to make it larger or a look from the back might help.

Quilts 2013 037

I did a piano key design on this border too but a wrought iron  design in the corners.

Quilts 2013 033The part I like the best on this quilt is the stacked stones design on the inside border.   It’s supposed to look like little odd shaped pebbles have been stacked or maybe laid next to each other.  I did a leaf design on the setting triangles.

Quilts 2013 034I have these two waiting to return home as soon as the owner calls me back.  I hope she likes the quilting.  I always worry about it.

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Two finished

  1. Bev Weis
    October 6, 2013

    Both are quite beautiful, Anita. You & the person who pieced the tops did awesome jobs!

  2. Sandi B
    October 5, 2013

    I like them both!!! Thank you for sharing, Anita.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2013 by in Customer quilts 2013, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

October 2013
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,641 HITS
