Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

I’m back

My phone and internet have been out for over a week.  Did anyone miss me?

A storm came through and a branch came off a tree breaking the phone line.  I’ve been stuck in the house waiting for a repairman to show up.  I’m only given information that the repairs will be finished by a certain day.  Nothing definite.  It was due to be repaired by day before yesterday but the repairman had not shown up by then.  Another call and the repairman was here fixing the line by late evening.

I did get work done.  I just couldn’t journal about it or read other people’s journal of activities.  Anyway, I finished a quilt for a customer.

Quilts 2013 062

I did straight lines in alternating direction on the outside border.  The inside border didn’t get any stitching as it was the same width as the border stitching.  I wanted to keep the space nearly the same throughout the quilt.

Quilts 2013 059

The center panels got cross hatching.

Quilts 2013 061

The main part of the quilt got what I call oil drops.  Because they remind me of a lamp I used to have that had drops of oil constantly dripping down strings.   Just to be a little different I made the lines wavy or squiggly instead of straight.

Quilts 2013 058

That is not my original design.  I know I’ve seen it somewhere but I can’t remember where.  A magazine?  A book?  A quilt show?  The internet?  I simply can’t remember and that bothers me.  I have terrible Senior Memory Syndrome.  Anyway, while I was having a stay at home retreat I finished a customer quilt top for her.

Quilts 2013 065

It’s a five little monkeys quilt that she was having a hard time getting finished.  Health reasons.  I put it in line to be quilted.  Now that my phone is fixed I can stop stressing and stop bothering my neighbors to use their limited minutes phones.   Umm… I hear the quilting machine calling me.  Another quilt wants to get finished and go home.

6 comments on “I’m back

  1. Lyndsey
    January 3, 2014

    Anita, My mom loved the quilt! She called the “oil drops” leaves and said she really liked the quilting. Thanks!

    • Na Na
      January 4, 2014

      Oh thank you, thank you Lyndsey. I’ve been wondering. I rarely hear about quilts after they go to their forever home.

  2. Lynda
    December 6, 2013

    Anita, we have been having internet problems here too, but it isn’t weather or tree branches falling. It is AT&T falling down on the job! Our internet service has gone out several times in the past 30 days. Glad you are back!

    • Na Na
      December 6, 2013

      Yeah, know what you mean. The service has gotten progressively worse over the last few years. Not sure how long AT&T will last at this rate.

  3. kathi
    November 9, 2013

    I MISSED YOU. i ALWAYS miss you. and am glad you got your “internal quilting retreat” for the week………… WAGONS HOOOO. and love and hugs and prayers my good friend.

    • Na Na
      November 15, 2013

      Thank you Kathi, are you keeping busy too?

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2013 by in Customer quilts 2013, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,277 HITS
