Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Finally done

Over the past several days I’ve been working steadily on the last quilt of this year.  Started off that the customer wanted me to finish the piecing.   I did that and was ready to put it onto the machine when she called to say she had another piece of fabric to put down the center of the backing.  Ok, got that done and it went onto the machine. Oops!  It’s too big to fit the machine.   I asked the customer and she said to cut off the borders a few inches.  Done that and it still just barely fit.  Here’s the leader at one end.  That turtle fabric is the added in piece down the middle.

Quilts 2013 107The leader at the other end.

Quilts 2013 111So I’m stabilizing everything to be sure it’s gonna come out even and squared when the batting comes up short.  Bummer!  Had to stop the quilting and piece more batting onto it before going on.

Batting came up a few inched short

Batting came up a few inched short

When I had that finished I worked to get it completely stabilized.  Stabilizing is stitch in the ditch around parts of the quilted pieces.  Just enough that it doesn’t shift around when quilting the designs.  While doing the stabilizing I hand sewed some seams that didn’t quite get sewn in the piecing process.  There were a couple dozen little places like that.

Quilts 2013 092Next it was time to choose a quilting design.  Wouldn’t you know it, I got quilter’s block.  I went through nearly a whole roll of wax paper trying to come up with an idea.

Quilts 2013 094I decided to do a zig zag design to follow the piecing.  After doing one whole row, in the center, diagonally from corner to corner, I hated it.  The pattern did not come out even and left several large gaps that simply would not do at all.  So there was a couple of days of frog stitching.  Ooo, I do hate frog stitching.

Quilts 2013 102Well it went back onto the machine and a new design was chosen.  I like it much better.

Quilts 2013 105Here’s another view.

Quilts 2013 103Really, it’s not easy coming up with a design for large quilting areas if the customer wants minimal quilting there.  Here’s what I did on the pieced part of the log cabins.

Quilts 2013 110Another view.  The quilting is denser on the piecing because there was extra fullness to be worked in.

Quilts 2013 108Here is the design I did on the border.

Quilts 2013 104

After all the piecing was done I put the binding on.  The only thing left to do is put a label on the back.  She has an embroidery machine that she uses to make those.

Now that all the quilts are done it’s time to take a few ME days.  The owner of this quilt and I are planning to have lunch at her place in her tree house one day.  Not an actual tree house but it’s the upstairs of her home that is surrounded by large trees.  The branches of the trees are so close to the windows that squirls  and birds will sit and watch her quilting.  That’s why she calls it a tree house.   I guess I’ll go start my holiday break now.  A thunder storm is coming through so I gotta get off the computer.  It’s possible we could loose power.

If I don’t get a chance to post for a few days…. I hope everyone had a happy, safe, warm holiday.

 

 

 

 

 

8 comments on “Finally done

  1. Theresa Alsup
    December 27, 2013

    That was a chore– what is frog stitching? I love the idea of a tree house quilt studio.

    How big is too big? I’m making a king sized quilt that will be about 104″ on a side, and the borders are pieced, so I can’t cut them down.

    • Na Na
      December 29, 2013

      Hi Theresa, frog stitching is “rip it, rip it” or some quilters say un-sewing or picking out or skinning a quilt. Different sayings for taking a quilt apart after it is sewn together. How big is too big? It depends on the machine that is used. My machine has a maximum of 115 inches for the backing which means the top can be no more than 110. I prefer to have more wiggle room so I ask customers to keep the tops at 105 or less.

  2. kathi
    December 24, 2013

    MERRY CHRISTMAS my friend.. THAT was one HECK of a quilting job. WHEW. yes, time for YOU time………………………………….

    • Na Na
      December 29, 2013

      Me time is sometimes very hard to find. Happy Holidays to you too Kathi.

  3. Joyful
    December 22, 2013

    You’ve done a beautiful job! Have a wonderful Christmas break. See you in the New Year!

    • Na Na
      December 29, 2013

      Thank you Penny, see you then too. Stay warm.

  4. Jeanie in MO
    December 21, 2013

    Hope you have a great & Merry Christmas! Love reading your blog.

    • Na Na
      December 29, 2013

      Thank you Jeanie. I hope your holiday was happy too.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2013 by in Customer quilts 2013, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

December 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,499 HITS
