Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Next ones finished

Yup, I have some finished quilts to show.  First, a peek at the issue quilt from a few posts ago.  I got the whole thing stabilized.  I was quilting along doing just fine with a feather on the border.  Then I saw this tuck in the backing.  It wasn’t visible until I advanced the quilt.

OOPS!

OOPS!

So it comes off the machine for me to do some frog stitching.  I decided to do the frogging in the evening while watching TV instead of using daylight.  Daylight is for machine time.

Started frog stitching

Started frog stitching

So I put three small quilts on to quilt.  Three together for fast quilting.  Fast easy ones that will help pay a bill quickly. Here’s the first one.  It’s a Christmas Stocking to be used as a table topper.  All I did was stitch in the ditch.

Bobby's stocking quilt

Bobby’s stocking quilt 2014

Ok, this is the second one.  A bunny quilt that is also a table topper.  I did simple stitch in the ditch on this one too.  Then I did straight line quilting on the tan inside border and the background behind the bunny.

Bobby's quilts 2014 010The third one is kissing bunnies.  I did stitch in the ditch around the characters and stippled the background behind the bunnies.  Straight lines on the outside border and the dark inside border.  A feather (?) design on the pink border.

Bobby's kissing bunnies quilt 2014

Bobby’s kissing bunnies quilt 2014

Here is a view of the back of the kissing bunnies.  The backing is flannel.

Bobby's quilts 2014 017

How did I put three on the machine at the same time?  End to end.  Like this.  When you have small quilts and the backing is about the same size you can quilt more than one by floating the tops.  The tops do not have to be close to the same size but the backing does.

Backings sewn or pinned together

Backings sewn or pinned together

I sometimes will sew a temporary piece of fabric to a backing in order to fit it closer in size.  An inch or two smaller is ok though.  Bobby knows if she plans to use the same fabric on more than one small quilt that it’s best to leave it as one whole piece instead of cutting it apart.  It makes my job easier because I don’t have to sew it back together again before quilting.  Bobby has one more small quilt here that I plan to quilt tomorrow.  That way she can pick them all up together.  She drives here from the other side of Kentucky to bring her quilts to me and drives again to pick them up.

I think it’s time for me to get off the computer and back into the studio.

 

 

5 comments on “Next ones finished

  1. jenyjenny
    April 6, 2014

    Amazing! You are awesome! Love to see your beautiful projects. I don’t have a long arm machine, but whenever I’ve done any free-motion quilting on the sewing machine, I usually end up with a little tuck somewhere. I’ve read that starting in the center is supposed to keep from getting tucks, but it doesn’t seem to matter for me.

    • Na Na
      April 9, 2014

      awww…. blush…. thank you.

      Sometimes it is just the nature of fabric to do what we don’t want it to do and often refuse to do what we think it should.

  2. Cindy Nielsen
    April 5, 2014

    It is great to see you working and sharing with us. I like seeing more than one loaded on at a time. Thanks.

    • Na Na
      April 5, 2014

      Thanks Cindy, I wish working with the computer were as easy. (smile)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2014 by in Customer quilts 2014, QUILTS - CUSTOMER, QUILTS - TIPS AND TECHNIQUES.

How often do I post?

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,212 HITS
