Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Quilt finish

This is Kentucky Derby weekend.  Our city has had bunches and bunches of out of town visitors for the last two weeks.  By tonight our lives will return to normal again.  The crowds will be heading to Indianapolis for the next big party.

In the meantime I finished a quilt yesterday.  This quilt is a Grandma and Me quilt.  It was done really well for a beginner and such a difficult pattern.  On point quilts are difficult even for confident piecers.

I saw the mail person delivering mail earlier than normal.  She was changing her route around so she could avoid the heavy traffic after the derby race is over.  Our mail usually doesn’t arrive until about 6 pm.  I hurried to print a label for the box, completely forgetting to take more detailed photos.  I believe I took enough to give you an idea of what I did though.  The photos should be clickable to enlarge.  If not, please let me know.

Ann's blue & white quilt 002

Here is a view of the border treatment.  The top had a few issues.  Nothing major though.  Just simple issues which are easily fixed with quilting.  I chose to do straight lines going in different directions to ease in the fabric in places where there was extra fullness.  I did a pretty feather design too with meandering in the background to take up some of the fullness.

Ann's blue & white quilt 003

I chose a leaf design for the setting triangles.  This is a sampler quilt so each block got a different quilting design.  I had planned to photo some of the blocks and forgot about them in my haste to get it on it’s way home.

Quilts and quilting 2014 082

Here is another photo of the border and part of a block design.

Ann's blue & white quilt 004

Last night was the “big party” for after the horse racing is over. In my area we have the cruising crowd.  I didn’t get much sleep due to all the motorcycle racing, the cars with thump, thump, thump music, and partying neighbors.  Many of my neighbors live a vampire life.  They wake up when the sun goes down and go to sleep at the rise of the sun.   I’ll be taking a nap today.

 

One comment on “Quilt finish

  1. Ann Godwin, SC
    May 4, 2014

    Amazing! I love it! You are an true artist.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2014 by in Customer quilts 2014, QUILTS - CUSTOMER.

How often do I post?

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 80,830 HITS
