Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Umm, yeah

This is one of my fair entries for this year.  I did retire in order to create art so I figured I might as well get started.  Click the photo to make it larger to get a better view.  I did take several photos of the quilt but every one of them came out looking blurred or washed out.  I think it might be all the white around the quilt.

Art journey 2014 018Here is a close up of the jeans.  I had a devil of a time getting the hopping foot to go over them enough to quilt it down.

Art journey 2014 023Here is the corresponding part on the other side.

Art journey 2014 022Here is the head and shoulders.

Art journey 2014 024Here is the other side.

Art journey 2014 025

Here is the writing at the bottom.

Art journey 2014 026So, what do you think?  Is this art?  Obviously I want to earn a living at making art, so would something like this actually sell?  For how much?  To who?  How would I find that buyer?  I have a lot to learn if I’m going to earn a living with art.

It’s going to take quite a bit of learning and testing to find my art voice.  A technique or style that is uniquely mine.  I don’t want to carbon copy the art of anyone else although learning from them will require me to use their patterns or supplies to learn the techniques.

Well, I could set here at the computer thinking and type talking about my future but there is another fair quilt waiting to get a hanging sleeve sewn onto it.  It must be finished today because my Ladybug is going to be here for the rest of the week and weekend.  The summer program has ended and school doesn’t start until next week.

6 comments on “Umm, yeah

  1. debbie
    August 18, 2014

    i LOVE this!!!!

    • Na Na
      August 20, 2014

      Thank you Debbie.

  2. Ann Godwin, SC
    August 7, 2014

    Of course I am sad that you won’t be quilting for me (loved your work…you are an artist with thread). I really liked your men and the baggy jeans.

    • Na Na
      August 20, 2014

      I made you laugh didn’t I? (giggle)

  3. kathi
    August 6, 2014

    I LOVE IT. you already HAVE your art voice and inside you KNOW it. now. how to market it? well knowing you. you WILL find the way.. CONFIDENCE.. that is all that is a tad lacking. GO FOR IT!!!! it makes me SMILE. enjoy ladybug. that’s the MOST important.

    • Na Na
      August 20, 2014

      Ladybug and I have been spending time looking at, and testing, some kid art techniques. She likes it. Kinda fun for me too.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2014 by in ART JOURNEY, Contest quilts 2014, Journey 2014, QUILTS - CONTESTS.

How often do I post?

August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,636 HITS
