Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Double wedding ring quilt

I finally got myself busy in the quilt studio and finished a quilt.  Its a double wedding ring that I pieced at least a year ago.  It was on the machine for a very long time waiting on me.  I was surprised to find that my arm didn’t hurt much.  I guess all the exercises are working.

Quilts - My own 2015 001I didn’t want to do the same designs that everyone does on double wedding ring quilts.  You know the designs?  Continuous curve or outline stitch on the rings.  Feather design on the center and so forth.  I want my stitching designs to be different.  Ok, how about I just show you.

The connecting corners got a straight line triangle design.  Click on any picture to make it  larger.

Quilts - My own 2015 003Its hard to see the stitching so here’s a look from the back.  Yellow orange thread.

Quilts - My own 2015 004How about a look at the rings and the center sections.  The rings got a feather curl design in dark green thread and the centers got a flower and leaf design in pale green thread.

Quilts - My own 2015 005

You will want to see the back of that too won’t you? Here you go.

Quilts - My own 2015 006

Next would be the four corner section in the center of the rings.  I did a freehand ribbon bow in light green thread for that area.

Quilts - My own 2015 007Take a look at the back.

Quilts - My own 2015 008Here is a look at the half sections along the outside edge of the quilt.  I did a three leaf design there.

Quilts - My own 2015 009Here it is from the back.  Its done in orange thread.

Quilts - My own 2015 010

While we are looking in that area take a look at the small border.  The border is 2 1/2 inches wide.  I used a dark rust brown color thread.

Quilts - My own 2015 011I was in the mood for experimenting so I did a swag design that allowed me to practice straight lines as well as curvy.  Here is a view from the back.

Quilts - My own 2015 012A look at the corners of the border too.

Quilts - My own 2015 013A look at the back as well.

Quilts - My own 2015 014

There are a lot of thread colors in this quilt.  Dark color thread on a light color fabric is being very brave.  It shows up absolutely every stitching mistake made.  I do know to use a matching thread color to minimize the appearance of flaws.  BUT, how am I ever going to get good at this if I don’t practice?  My goal is to be good enough that I can use colors on a white background without fear.

Quilts - My own 2015 015I think I need a lot more practice.  Hmm…. I wonder if I have another one to practice on.

10 comments on “Double wedding ring quilt

  1. Susan Rizzi
    February 16, 2015

    I am glad to hear that you are feeling well enough to start long arming again. You do such beautiful work – I am in awe of you.

    • Na Na
      February 17, 2015

      Awww… shuffling foot…..blushing…

      Thanks, I’m soooo ready to quilt again.

  2. Theresa
    February 4, 2015

    I love it when the back is as pretty as the front! This is really lovely!

    • Na Na
      February 5, 2015

      Ooo, me too! Thank you. I want to be good enough that I can use pretty colors on a light background.

  3. kathi
    January 29, 2015

    holy TOLEDO!!! I AM AWESTRUCK!!!! and near speachless. and that says a lot for me. YOU GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GIRL!!!

    • Na Na
      February 5, 2015

      Kathi Hi! Isn’t it great I’ve been able to start using the quilting machine more these days? Yeah, there is quite a few back tracking mistakes but I’m sure proud of it.

  4. Linda
    January 29, 2015

    Recently discovered your blog and enjoyed it so much, I signed up to follow you. I love your quilting. I wish I had the space and money for a longarm, but I don’t, so I just watch others and admire. Is that a top you pieced, or do you quilt for others?

    • Na Na
      February 5, 2015

      Thank you Linda. I have not been quilting for others for several months. I’ve been getting my health back and now I’m feeling much better. I was a professional machine quilter for several years and I am anxious to get back to it again. Have you thought about doing quilting on your domestic machine?

  5. Cindy Nielsen
    January 29, 2015

    Your quilt is beautiful and the quilting is wonderful. I wish I coul be that brave to use colored thread on a light background.

    • Na Na
      February 5, 2015

      I’m glad it was one of my own and not a customer quilt. I’d be to scared to do that with a quilt belonging to someone else. I need a lot more practice at back tracking.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2015 by in QUILTS - FOR ME.

How often do I post?

January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,553 HITS
