Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

What happened to June

Who knew July would sneak up on me so quickly?  I did get another quilt finished although I’ve had trouble posting about it.  For some reason wordpress has decided to act up for the last few days on this blog but not my other one.

This is Gordon’s quilt.  I love the colors and the layout.  All that bias in the piecing and then more bias of the setting can be tricky to keep straight on the machine.

Quilts - Gordon 2015He left the quilting up to me.  I decided the back should look good without overwhelming the front. What I mean is that the quilting would not show on the pretty floral fabric front but would look nice on the back.  Umm…. its better if you see it.  Click the photo for a closer view.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 052Do you see now how the floral fabric has a nearly invisible design that looks good on the back? It would have been easy to use a simple straight line design like piano keys or crosshatching in those areas.  I wanted them to be better than that.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 073The border has a pretty feather design even if it can’t be seen.  Hard to see the stitching isn’t it?  Well here it is from the back, looking at that corner.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 053And another view a little away from the corner.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 067That picture also shows the inside border feather design.  Here it is from the front.  You can actually see the stitching on it.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 072The setting triangles were done with a sort of triangle (or horseshoe) feather design.  Nearly invisible on the front but look nice on the back.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 059I wanted to do something different with the pieced blocks.  The design is visible but subtle.  There is a leaf design on the triangles and a different leaf design around the star.  Is that a star?

Quilts - Gordon 2015 069Here it is from the back.  The tiny sashing creates a nice border for the block.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 060Hmm…. that doesn’t show very well either.  Here is my original sketch of the design.  I did the whole thing in one continuous line.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 074Here is the sketch for the leaf design around the star.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 075I think it turned out rather nice.  I hope he thinks so too.  I’ve called and left him a message its finished but he hasn’t called me back.  He might be out of town or something.  There are alot of retreats going on around here.  Maybe he’ll see it on the blog.  What do you think?  Were my choices good?

6 comments on “What happened to June

  1. debmoyes
    July 28, 2015

    What happened to July??? Hope you’ve been staying cool. It’s been dreadfully hot here.

    • Na Na
      August 1, 2015

      Yes, hot here too. I’m cool though.

  2. Gordon Vogt
    July 5, 2015

    I love the quilting!! I am in Italy. Will call you when I get back in Louisville

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Na Na
      July 6, 2015

      Thanks Gordon, I can relax now. See you when you get back.

  3. Beth in AZ
    July 5, 2015

    You always do such nice quilting! Hope you are staying cool this summer. Did you plant a garden this year? I have fallen off the blog wagon for now. I will climb back on soon!

    • Na Na
      July 6, 2015

      Beth! Hi
      I’ve been wondering about you. Everything ok? No, no garden this year. Physically not able to do it but I’m working on a plan for next year.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,628 HITS
