Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Susan’s quilt

This was an inherited quilt that Susan found in her mother in law’s things when her house was cleaned out.  Susan asked me to finish it as a surprise gift for her husband.  I’m not sure but I think she told me it was for their anniversary.

Quilts - Susan 003

No one really believes me but this is the type quilt top I absolutely love working on.  Its an issue quilt.  Issue quilts are the ones with extra fullness, or mis-matched seams, or D-cup centers, or have never seen an iron, or a beginner’s first quilt.

Quilts - Susan 007

The inherited quilts are the ones started by someone with love in their hearts.  For whatever reason the top is never quilted.  When I finish an inherited quilt I feel as if the piecer is looking over my shoulder watching how I imagine they would have wanted it done.

Quilts - Susan 002

I thoroughly enjoy the challenge of quilting the wonky seams and the friendly borders.  Anybody can make a perfectly pieced top look good.  I like to think I have a talen for making the badly pieced tops look good too.

Quilts - Susan 005

They don’t always turn our perfectly squared but very close.  Some areas require more quilting than others.

Quilts - Susan 004

I believe the husband is going to be very surprised to see it finished and will enjoy using it instead of keeping it stuffed in a box in storage.

Quilts - Susan 005

I like to believe the piecer is glad it got finished after all.

5 comments on “Susan’s quilt

  1. kathi
    December 30, 2015

    just WONDERFUL. a TRUE gift of LOVE.

  2. Clara
    December 29, 2015

    Susan´s quilt is soooo adorable!!!!

    • Na Na
      December 29, 2015

      Thank you Clara. I was hoping someone would think that.

  3. Linda
    December 29, 2015

    The quilt looks great! I love old(er) quilts.

    • Na Na
      December 29, 2015

      Yes Linda, the older quilts have a special charm about them don’t they? I like them even better than the ones I make myself.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

December 2015
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,203 HITS
