Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Another for Gordon

This quilt had me standing and staring for a couple of days.  There is lots of movement in the stack and whack fabric design.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 104

I thought it would be good to play up that motion with a stitch design that also had lots of movement.  I took a photo while it was dark so the design would show up well.  It really shows well if you click the photo.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 105

Choosing a thread color was slightly difficult.  I was tempted to use a bright red color because of all the hot colors in the fabric.  In the end I used a green thread that should have viewers wanting a closer look.  Even though this is a freehand all over design I would call it medium custom because of its density.  Here is a look in full light.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 113

I did piano key lines on the outside border and a loop design on the inside border. These formed a stopping point for the eyes with all the motion of the center area.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 109

Here is a look at the back.  Nothing shows up but I really like the fabric.

Quilts - Gordon 2015 112

Gordon did a very nice job making that top.  I was glad to be able to quilt it for him.

One comment on “Another for Gordon

  1. anita
    January 9, 2016

    Nice. I enjoy looking at your work

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

January 2016
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,494 HITS
