Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Oops, forgot this one

I started this one on New Year’s Day but couldn’t finish it because I came down with an illness.  I did finish it a few days later but completely forgot to post about it.  This one is a Dear Jane quilt with, I believe, 5 inch blocks.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 001

She did a fantastic job of piecing and applique.  She wanted wool batting to keep the quilt light and soft.  I did minimal quilting for the same reason.  Heavy quilting makes a quilt stiff.  So I stitched in the ditch around the pieces and the applique of the blocks then stitch in the ditch for the sashing.  The pieces were so small that anything else would have been too much quilting.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 005

I used a flower vine in the border to be minimal there as well.  It would have drawn up the borders too much if I had done more.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 009

The quilt went back home to the owner and she was pleased with it.  One of the things I believe many professional quilters forget is that not all quilts need the stitching to show.  Yes, I know they want their quilting work to show but sometimes its best to let the quilt itself be the star.  This is especially true of Dear Jane quilts with their tiny applique and piecing.

How often do I post?

March 2016
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,553 HITS
