Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Lyndsey’s quilt finished

The baby stayed home Friday so I had a full day of quilting and another full day on Saturday.  Lyndsey had marked the top with a design she had planned to quilt herself.  I think it was a good choice so I decided to quilt it as she had planned.

Quilts - Lyndsey 2016 004

I started stitching along the marked lines.  The trouble with my machine is that it doesn’t make a smooth curve when moving slow enough to stay on the lines.  It wants to wobble.  I knew I’d need a template to hold the machine steady.  Ok, looking through all my plastic templates there was none to match the marked curves.  What now?  Well I’d just have to make a template myself.

Quilts - Lyndsey 2016 005

A phone call to Lyndsey to ask how she had marked her circles.  It was an eight inch circle so I used a protractor to mark an eight inch circle on a piece of cardboard.  Templates for quilting machines like mine need to be at least 1/2 inch thick to prevent going under the hopping foot.  I cut out the circle and then cut it into four pieces but only used two to make my template.  A bit of glue and some tape around the edge and its good to go.

I still have to move slowly to stay on the lines but the wobble is almost non existent using my homemade template.  I went on to finish the quilting.  The quilt is now finished and ready for pick up.

Quilts - Lyndsey 2016 009

There may be some readers wondering why I didn’t just use the full circle template for the quilting but chose instead to use the quarter circle.  My thinking was that there would have been too many stops and starts with the full circles.  I quilted along the diagonal instead of the horizontal.  Starting at the upper left I quilted going left then right in S curve fashion moving diagonally from block to block.  I’d advance the top and continue all the way to the bottom right corner.  One start and one stop.  I went back to the beginning but this time did the opposite side of the same row of stitching.  Again, one stop and one start.

Quilts - Lyndsey 2016

I did the diagonal rows left to right then went back to do the right to left lines.  After having completed the quilting on this top I think my homemade template did a good job of keeping the machine steady.

5 comments on “Lyndsey’s quilt finished

  1. Lyndsey Stanfill
    April 4, 2016

    It looks fantastic! I can’t wait to get the binding on it and give it to the recipient.

    • Anita
      April 4, 2016

      Thanks Lyndsey. I look forward to your next one.

  2. Linda
    April 3, 2016

    Your resourcefulness is so inspiring to me and the quilting turned out great!

    • Anita
      April 4, 2016

      Thanks Linda. I’m just sharing but inspiring is good too. 😉

  3. Theresa
    April 2, 2016

    Simple, but pretty, quilting and such cheerful colors.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

April 2016
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,494 HITS
