Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Bobby’s quilt

This one was finished quick once I got it on the machine.

Quilts - Bobby 2016 002

The batting had to be pieced first.  It was from a bunch of batting I had given her because I didn’t want to deal with piecing it.  Sigh, these partially finished things always come back to me.  Its like the donations are yelling “you won’t get rid of me so easily” at me when they leave.

Quilts - Bobby 2016 004

Oh well, it’s going to a charity raffle so piecing it wasn’t a problem.  I did simple meandering all over at her request.  She didn’t want to put a lot of money into the quilting.  It will most likely be dragged around by a child and washed repeatedly.

Quilts - Bobby 2016 006

The stitching thread blended very well with the fabric.  It is a blue green called sea foam.  Here’s a look at it from the back.

Quilts - Bobby 2016 007

Click to make it larger if you want.  That’s a flannel backing.  It makes a very soft backing.  Especially after a few washes.  Now to get working on the next one.

4 comments on “Bobby’s quilt

  1. Theresa
    April 5, 2016

    I actually sort of like piecing batting, it’s kind of mindless, like simple knitting.

    • Anita
      April 6, 2016

      I normally don’t mind piecing batting either. How to explain? When I go through quilting things to donate its because I want to clear my space and give to someone who can use it. I pick out stuff I’m willing to part with for charity and sometimes that includes partially finished items. The idea of donating to someone is so THEY will have something to do. I’m not handing out items for other people to choose which ones for me to finish. If I wanted to finish it myself it would not have been a donation. Its sort of like donating a bag of fabric only to have the person return and ask me to make them a quilt from that fabric. Even if they pay me to make the quilt, they got a big discount of free fabric. I hope that makes sense.

      • Theresa
        April 6, 2016

        It sounds pretty frustrating. And time consuming.

        • Anita
          April 7, 2016

          Thanks for the link. Yes, it is.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

April 2016
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 83,641 HITS
