Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Frustration

Many people know already that I’m earnestly trying to move away from a really bad neighborhood.  Its gotten pretty awful around here.  Just watch the news and you’ll see.  I’ve talked about it more on my penny pinching blog than on here.  Its not easy trying to move without money and I’m not likely to sell my house for much.  No one wants to buy in this area.

Anyway, I have a problem.  I’ve searched and can’t find anyone anywhere close to this area who knows enough about the Gammill quilting machines to break one down, move it about 5 miles south of here, then put it back together for me at the time when I’m ready to move.  I don’t have the physical strength to do this myself.  My son-in-law could do the work IF I could tell him how.

Moving 2016 004

I tried searching for information with photos or possibly a video on how its done.  I asked if anyone had instructions.  Nope.  Gammill doesn’t have any information like that at all.  Not even in their famous White Book of instructions.  Its strange that Gammill has a book and various other forms of information about these machines but not one single word about how to move the machines from one location to another.

We can get over the phone, person to person, help with timing the machines or proper oiling or just about anything else done to a machine but no one knows how to move them?  No one will break one down and take photos doing it then photos of how to put it back together?  That’s sad.  Hasn’t anyone ever thought to take some pictures before and after setting one up for a quilt show?  It would be a simple task to take pictures while this is being done anyway.

I mentioned my delima to my son-in-law a few days ago.  He has always been fascinated by my quilting machine.  Not for the stitching but because its a big machine. Guys usually like machines.  Anyway, my son-in-law told me he would really like to learn how to work on the Gammill machines.  Actually, I’d love to send him to classes but it’s probably more than I could afford.  He’s out of work right now and having difficulty getting a foot in the door anyplace.  He also has a bunch of mouths to feed.  If he knew about the machines it could at least be a  part time income for him.  AND, it sure would be great if I had someone nearby when I have a problem with my machine.  😉

As of right now I don’t have a clue how I’m going to get this big quilting machine moved from one house to the other when its time.  Anybody have any suggestions?

UPDATE:  A couple of people found links to information about moving the machine.  Many thanks for the help!

11 comments on “Frustration

  1. Linda in NE
    April 7, 2016

    That’s odd that there aren’t any instructions available anymore for setting up the frames and machines. I’m pretty sure my instruction book for my Premier had those….pictures and all. Can’t imagine it would be much different for any more. The computer operated ones would be a little different but my Premier has the regulated stitch and I’d say the most important thing is getting everything plugged back in to the right places. Take digital pictures, label, label, label, everything so you know what it’s supposed to look like all put back together. Good luck.

    • Anita
      April 7, 2016

      My machine is the Classic. Made before the premier. Made about the same time Linda Taylor became famous. Mine did not come with an instruction book. The delivery man came, set the machine up, and left. I had to figure everything out by myself.

      Its the table thats most complicated. If not taken apart and put back together right it will not be balanced. A couple of people found some instructions for newer Gammill machines and sent them to me. One on Linda Taylor’s site and one by Todd Fletcher. It looks like I’ll be needing more printer ink for printing out lots of pages with photos. I’m not sure the instructions will work for the Classic but they are worth checking.

  2. joyinthearts
    April 7, 2016

    2 things.
    Where do you live that is so declining? Michigan? I have not seen your other posts you mentioned.
    &
    You can call a mover and make an arrangement for them to move only one large item for a mutually agreed-upon cost – – or even hire a trailer and some college kid movers for your quilting machine. (Colleges have boards you can post your request on.) Be sure to insure it for the move. I did this once when I had a large item to move. You do have to be there and on the ball to supervise and, if using a professional ,moving company, get it in writing first, as even with a contract, the actual workman tried to overcharge me. It took a call to the corporate office to get him to back down and honor the price – – this after I saw him cruising about before getting to me – – he wanted to charge me for that time!

    I hope this is helpful. I wish you well.

    • Anita
      April 7, 2016

      I live in Louisville, KY in the West end. Pick any major city in America and its usually the west side that is declining fastest. Here is a link showing the reason I finally decided to move after all these years. Moving

      Even if I could find one to do the moving regular moving companies won’t work for moving quilting machines. They are delicately balanced and if not done right the machine can be damaged. My machine cost more than my house so I sure couldn’t afford to replace it.

  3. Loretta Salinas
    April 6, 2016

    Sadly. It may be that u may have to consider asking someone like a piano company to help move it?

    Sent from my heart to your heart 💖

    >

    • Anita
      April 7, 2016

      I wish it were that easy. These machines are very more like moving factory machinery than furniture.

  4. Mary Yohn
    April 6, 2016

    Anita,

    This page has a link to an article by Todd Fletcher on moving a longarm. I downloaded the article and it is good. It is 20 pages long, has a lot of photos, and the demo machine in the article is a Gammill.

    http://www.lequilters.com/index.php/support2e07a/downloads/cat_view/2-support.html

    Mary

    • Anita
      April 7, 2016

      Thanks Mary I couldn’t find any information when I searched. I must have missed it somehow. I wonder why the Gammill company didn’t tell me about it when I called?

  5. Theresa
    April 6, 2016

    Check your email, there’s instructions on lequilts.com and I forwarded the URL.

    • Anita
      April 7, 2016

      Thanks Theresa, yes they are complicated.

      • Theresa
        April 7, 2016

        Just remember to have small ziplock bags and as you remove the fasteners, keep them in separate bags with a note in the bag saying where they go.

        You can also use painters tape to tape the bags to the structural pieces they go in.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

April 2016
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 79,782 HITS
