Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Ann’s quilt

Time sure does go by quickly these days.  I was working on this quilt several days ago.  I had all the stitch in the ditch work finished to stabilize it and I was ready to start the quilting.

Quilts - Ann 2016 001

Then I noticed this tuck in the back.  Oh no!  Gee whiz, that stitch in the ditch work was darn near perfect too.  I stabilize every quilt for this very reason.

Quilts - Ann 2016 003

Well, perfect or not, it had to be taken apart.  So out came the picker and I started frog stitching.

Quilts - Ann 2016 004

Frog stitching simple stabilizing lines is far easier than picking out an intricate design.  That’s why I stabilize every quilt first.  To be sure its as squared as possible and that there are no tucks in the backing.  When a quilt is stabilized there is less stress when doing the quilting work.   I’m not having to constantly check that everything is as it should be.  The frogging took the rest of the day.

The quilt is finished now.  It was actually finished a couple of days after frogging was done.  Its ready to go home just as soon as I find a box.

Quilts - Ann 2016 005

I did an echo line around the applique and then meandered the background.

Quilts - Ann 2016 008

I did a leafy design in the setting triangles.

Quilts - Ann 2016 007

I did a playful flower design on the outside border and a simple leaf design on the inside border.

Quilts - Ann 2016 006

My quilting is going slower these days because of all the things I have to do for other people.  Plus sorting and purging STUFF before I move to a new house.  I’ve tried to get rid of things in the past but this time its different.  I look at it now and I just don’t want it anymore.   It feels good.  Less stressful.

4 comments on “Ann’s quilt

  1. Ann godwin
    April 23, 2016

    It looks Fantastic!!

  2. Ann godwin
    April 23, 2016

    It looks fantastic Anita. Can’t wait to see it. Did you receive the information on your machine? I hope all goes well with your move.

    • Anita
      April 24, 2016

      Yes, I got the information, thank you. I’ll have your quilt in the mail Monday. Sheila’s quilt will be mailed too.

  3. Linda
    April 20, 2016

    Reverse sewing is such a pain….but you ended up with a beautiful quilting job. I’m sure your customer will be pleased.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

April 2016
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 85,494 HITS
