Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Sheila’s quilt

Sheila’s quilt is called a sampler quilt because it contains many different quilt blocks.  I don’t have wall space to take full photos so I lay the quilts on my 4′ by 8′ work table.  This is one side.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 014

This is the other side.  The quilt has lots of lines and angles with some flowers so that’s the type quilting I thought would work best.  Of course there has to be a bit of whimsy now and then too.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 041

Sampler quilts mean lots of different quilting designs.  I’ll show a few of them.  This is the border around one large section.  Its a leafy curl next to straight lines on the tiny pieced sashing which is next to a loop line which is next to more straight lines on the flower blocks.  Click the photo to see it better.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 016

I did line dancing on the pieces in this area which happened to create a flower inside the darkest pieces.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 022

I did straight lines in the sashing of this area and a flower in the pieced star centers to carry the theme of flowers and leaves and straight lines throughout the quilting.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 029

This is the flower blocks of the section shown above.  I outlined inside and outside of the flowers next to the loopy line.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 017

I did straight lines and flowers in this area too.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 036

This is one of several star blocks where I put outlining inside and outside with a flower in the centers.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 027

Next to that star block is the outside border of the quilt.  I did a leaf made of straight line and points so the whole quilt has the same quilting theme.

Quilts - Sheila 2016 015

Quilts look better in person than they do in photos.  I hope in my new house I’ll be able to photo quilts using a photo wall.  I won’t know until I get there.  I’m hopeful I’ll be all moved by the end of June or early July.  I had this quilt and Ann’s  ready to mail on Saturday.  Our mail person doesn’t usually get to my area until around 7 pm but on Saturday there was a substitute who came early morning.  I missed her so they will go in the mail on Monday.

How often do I post?

April 2016
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 81,644 HITS
