Anita's quilts and quilting

A professional longarm machine quilter for hire and some of the work I've done.

Life happenings

Anyone who has ever downsized and moved will know how difficult and stressful it can be.  I’m still trying to make this house into my home.  At the other house I spent years moving things around and putting them just where I felt comfortable using them.  Especially in my quilting studio.  I had routines which allowed time for other things.  Sure, I’d get irritated sometimes when life didn’t always go my way but I could bounce back into a comfortable routine.

Downsizing and moving to a different house means nothing feels right or comfortable anymore.  My routines are thrown off balance and I spend much more time looking for stuff because it isn’t were I expect it to be.  My age and the senior moments aren’t helping much either.

New house 2016 084

Not having a car and living much farther from a bus stop is a hindrance.  When I need to make a run to the hardware for something to solve a space problem I can’t do it quickly.  Here, I live six and a half blocks from the bus stop instead of the half block at the old house.  I don’t think I’ll be catching many buses in the winter.

Don’t get me wrong, I like this house and plan to live here for a very long time despite a bullying neighbor.  It took me years to get the old house organized the way it worked for me and this one won’t be done overnight.  I simply have to get it together enough to quilt again.  IF thats what I really want to do.  I’m still trying to decide on my quilting future.  Do I want to go back to quilting for others or do I want to finally just create art?  Quilting for others does bring in some money but is highly stressful.  Creating art has no stress but possibly won’t sell either so no money coming in.  I’m leaning toward creating the art as I’ve always wanted to do.  It would be nice if I had someone to talk with about it but I don’t.

Something else has kept me away from getting back into quilting and blogging about it.  Back in the spring I had finished a quilt to be entered into the fair.  Someone I knew really needed a quilt so I gave it to them thinking I had plenty of time to make another one before the fair.  At that time I didn’t know I’d be moving.  A couple of weeks before the entry deadline, right in the middle of getting moved, I realized I didn’t have a quilt to enter so I rushed to finish another one I had started.

Quilts - my own 2016 002

Thankfully it was finished an hour before the end of time to drop it off and I had my brother’s truck to take it there.   Then there were days of having electricians, termite control, and such here doing work.  I had to stay out of their way which meant no quilting.  Next were days of “Mom, I need your help.  My job wants me to go out of town for a couple of days can you babysit?”  There are other similar requests from other people.  I care about all of them so how could I say no?

Oh yes, and then it was fair time.  Of course I had to go.  I look forward to the fair every year.  For me its like having a staycation.  Ladybug and I have fun together there.  I liked seeing some past customers and letting them know I moved to a much nicer neighborhood.  I most especially like hearing what they’ve been up too since I saw them last.

I’ve also had dentist appointments, doctor appointments, shopping to be done, food bank trips, and other happenings that are not so easy to accomplish when routines are not the same.  Now that the fair is over and I’m settling into my new house I have decisions to make.  Specifically, what do I want to do going forward into my future?  Do I want to continue with the stress of machine quilting for others or should I concentrate on becoming the artist I’ve always wanted to be?  Am I too old for changing careers?

Old blue was used as bait in a dog fighting camp

Old blue was used as bait in a dog fighting camp

Could I make a living being an artist?  I don’t know.  All I know is that I want to create in my own individual style of art.  Its been a lifelong dream to become an artist and if I don’t do it now I never will.   So, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  (smile)

I just realized its been two whole years since I last attempted to do a creative art quilt.  Well dang, no wonder I’ve been so down in the dumps.  Now if only I could make up my mind which room is going to be my art studio.  A room upstairs or a room downstairs?

4 comments on “Life happenings

  1. kathi
    September 22, 2016

    Go for the Art Quilts. If you don’t do it now, you will never get around to it.
    THIS time, it’s for YOU.

    • Anita
      September 22, 2016

      I think you are right Kathi. If I don’t do it now I might as well give up the dream. I may become a starving artist but at least I’d be an artist instead of a starving quilter.

      • Jasna
        September 22, 2016

        Yep. Definitely, it´s never too late to make a veer in career. I´m sure it´ll make you happy indeed!!!

        • Anita
          September 23, 2016

          Thanks Jasna.

Comments are closed.

How often do I post?

September 2016
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Monthly archives

List of blog categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Follow Anita's quilts and quilting on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 82,413 HITS
